Andrea Edginton and Bill Power win Excellence in Science Teaching Awards

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Teaching the next generation of scientists is a job our faculty takes to heart. Each year, the Faculty of Science recognizes the teaching quality and impact of our faculty through the Excellence in Science Teaching Awards (ESTA).

The 2015 ESTA were awarded to Dr. Andrea Edginton and Chemistry Department Chair Bill Power for their sustained, high quality teaching in their undergraduate and graduate courses.

Dr, Andrea EdingtonEdginton, an Associate Professor in the School of Pharmacy, has taken a highly innovative approach in teaching pharmacokinetics.

She was a pioneer at the University of Waterloo in using the “flipped classroom” model. This approach places most of the core instructional material online allowing classroom time to be used to address questions and provide supplementary explanations of difficult concepts.

Despite the challenges in teaching such a difficult subject, Edginton has consistently been one of the most highly rated teachers in the School of Pharmacy.

Professor Bill PowerPower has taught at every level of the Chemistry curriculum. He’s consistently praised by students for his ability to take complicated concepts and explain them in a way that makes them seem intuitive and almost simple.  

Students cite his love of teaching as one of his most outstanding qualities. Power is well known and admired by students and colleagues for his innovative approaches to engage students and maximize their learning experience.

The annual ESTA award was established to recognize and reward excellence in teaching and outstanding instructors within the Faculty of Science at the University of Waterloo. Winners of the ESTA receive a certificate and a monetary award, which is used to support teaching activities.