News archive - June 2020

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Dave Rudolph wins the 2020 Robert N. Farvolden Award

Dave Rudolph headshot

Dave Rudolph, Chair and a professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, is the recipient of the 2020 Robert N. Farvolden Award for his research in groundwater management and innovative methods to monitor water resources in the face of changing land use and climate.

This award is given by the Canadian National Chapter of the International Association of Hydrogeologists and Canadian Geotechnical Society to honour an individual's outstanding contributions to the disciplines of earth science and engineering that emphasize the role or importance of groundwater.

Monday, June 29, 2020

Behind the scenes with online learning at the School of Pharmacy

Two images. Left: Prof. William Wong looking at desktop computer. Right: Female student working on a laptop.

Online learning is the new norm at the School of Pharmacy this Spring Term as a result of COVID-19. Like other faculty members, William W.L. Wong is exploring a variety of innovative methods to deliver content and assessments in a virtual space. Together, he and Pharmacy support staff devised a solution to continue offering a hands-on learning experience to his remote students.

Friday, June 26, 2020

NSERC invests more than $1.49 million into Waterloo Science research

Red logo: Stylized maple leaf in a square with NSERC CRSNG beside.

As the Government of Canada focuses on responding to the challenges of COVID-19, it also recognizes the invaluable contributions of Canadian researchers in the natural sciences and engineering. That is why the Government continues to support the discovery research being done at Canadian universities to help build the foundation for innovation and economic growth. 

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Science hosts virtual Town Hall and announces Science Anti-Racism Taskforce

The Faculty of Science hosted its virtual Anti-Racism Town Hall yesterday to listen to the Waterloo Science community about their experiences, ideas and suggestions for future change. The Town Hall was the first of many steps that Science will be taking to address issues and problems related to racism.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Two Vision Science PhD candidates receive 2020 Amit and Meena Chakma Awards for Exceptional Teaching

Headshots of Dania Abuleil and Amy Chow

The recipients of the 2020 Amit and Meena Chakma Awards for Exceptional Teaching by a Student were announced this week by Associate Vice-President, Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs Jeff Casello. Dania Abuleil and Amy Chow, two PhD candidates from the School of Optometry and Vision Science, were among the four winners.