News for Chemistry

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Metal catalysts used for environmental sustainability found to degrade and become less effective

Diagram of nanoscale electrocatalysts.

New research is showing that some tiny catalysts being considered for industrial-scaled environmental remediation efforts may be unstable during operation.

Chemists from the University of Waterloo studied the structures of complex catalysts known as “nanoscale electrocatalysts” and found that they are not as stable as scientists once thought. When electricity flows through them during use, the atoms may rearrange. In some cases, the researchers found, electrocatalysts degrade completely.

Friday, June 18, 2021

Science recognizes Special Award Winners at spring convocation

Congratulations to Max Chemtov and Victoria Grace Wilkes for being recognized with special awards this year during convocation!

Friday, June 11, 2021

eCampusOntario investing in cutting edge virtual learning projects in Waterloo Science

Kim Cuddington and Leanne Racicot.

As we continue to navigate the COVID-19 pandemic, virtual learning has necessarily become an integral part of the day-to-day life of students, faculty, and staff at the University of Waterloo. One of the challenges often associated with online learning is creating active engagements between students and instructors, especially with hands on learning opportunities such as with labs.  

Thursday, June 10, 2021

Waterloo researchers study coronavirus structure to help design drugs for current and future pandemics

SARS-CoV-2 Mpro complexe structure.

Professors Aravindhan Ganesan (Pharmacy) and Subha Kalyaanamoorthy (Chemistry) use drug design methods to target the molecular machinery that supports COVID-19 replication.

Wednesday, June 2, 2021

The Faculty of Science celebrates award winners at Dean's reception

This afternoon, Bob Lemieux, Dean of Science celebrated the amazing faculty and staff of the Faculty of Science that have received awards for teaching and research in the last four years (2018-2021), in addition to introducing the new faculty members, as well as recognizing faculty and staff who have retired since June 2018.