News for Physics and Astronomy

Thursday, August 13, 2020

Physicist Christine Muschik recognized for work in Quantum Information

Christine Muschik stands in the forefront with a group of students sitting at a table blurred in the background.

Thirteen early-career researchers with exceptional leadership potential will join four CIFAR research programs. Christine Muschik, assistant professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and at the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC), has been selected as a 2020-2022 CIFAR Azrieli Global Scholar.

Monday, July 20, 2020

Astrophysicists release largest 3D map of the universe ever created

Headshot of Will Percival against a blackboard with equations.

Astrophysicists have filled in 11 billion years in our picture of the universe with the release of a comprehensive analysis of the largest three-dimensional cosmic map ever created.

Friday, June 26, 2020

NSERC invests more than $1.49 million into Waterloo Science research

Red logo: Stylized maple leaf in a square with NSERC CRSNG beside.

As the Government of Canada focuses on responding to the challenges of COVID-19, it also recognizes the invaluable contributions of Canadian researchers in the natural sciences and engineering. That is why the Government continues to support the discovery research being done at Canadian universities to help build the foundation for innovation and economic growth. 

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Science hosts virtual Town Hall and announces Science Anti-Racism Taskforce

The Faculty of Science hosted its virtual Anti-Racism Town Hall yesterday to listen to the Waterloo Science community about their experiences, ideas and suggestions for future change. The Town Hall was the first of many steps that Science will be taking to address issues and problems related to racism.

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Three Waterloo Science Graduate Students win prestigious Vanier Scholarship

Science Vanier Winners 2020

Last week, this year's Vanier Scholarship award winners were announced. Among the prestigious group were Finnian Gray, Christian Ieritano, and Spencer Weinstein, three Faculty of Science graduate students.