Information for

You are here

Dean Terry McMahon receives most prestigious award in mass spectrometry research

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Terry McMahonDean of Science and Chemistry professor Terry McMahon has been awarded the 2015 Fred P. Lossing Award from the Canadian Society for Mass Spectrometry.

Named after Frederick Pettit Lossing, the award is given annually to a distinguished Canadian mass spectrometrist and recognizes their significant contributions to the field.

McMahon has published around 200 articles with over 6,000 citations and an h-index of 42. His research program is directed toward the investigation of structure, energetic and reaction dynamics of gaseous ions. His lab uses a combination of high pressure mass spectrometry, infrared spectroscopy, and computational methods to determine the intrinsic properties of gas-phase ions.

Last year, McMahon won the 2015 John C. Polanyi Award for his research excellence.

The CSMS Fred P. Lossing award is a framed print of Lake Louise by the local Canmore artist, Marilyn Kinsella. It will be formally presented to McMahon at the Lake Louise Mass Spectrometry Workshop in December 2015.

Congratulations Dean McMahon!