Dr. Lyndon Jones named University Professor

Friday, April 10, 2020

Dr. Lyndon Jones headshot
Dr. Lyndon Jones, a professor at the School of Optometry & Vision Science, has been named a ‘University Professor’ by the University of Waterloo. The prestigious designation recognizes faculty members who have “demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievement and international pre-eminence in a particular field or fields of knowledge.”

Jones is the Director of the internationally recognized Centre for Ocular Research & Education (CORE). He is a world-leading expert in contact lens technology, with research interests that primarily focus on the interaction of contact lens materials with the ocular environment, dry eye, myopia control and the development of materials for ocular drug delivery.

In his letter nominating Jones for this honour, School Director Dr. Stan Woo noted that Jones “brings a unique perspective and keen insights in conducting significant inter-disciplinary research with engineers, chemists, and material scientists in both academia and industry. He has authored over 400 refereed and professional papers, one textbook and is a co-inventor on 8 patents with impressive metrics to support the impact of his efforts.”

“[Dr. Jones] is tireless in his quest to lead innovation in the field of contact lens and biomaterials, and his energy inspires those around him to realize their full potential. He is a gifted speaker and educator, being equally comfortable lecturing to optometry students as he is leading discussions with graduate students and practitioners.”

Jones is one of three faculty members across the University to receive the designation at the April 7th meeting of the University’s Board of Governors. The other recipients were Claudio Canizares (Electrical & Computer Engineering) and Richard Cook (Statistics and Actuarial Science). Only 16 other individuals across the University of Waterloo currently hold the title.

Jones is the second faculty member from the School of Optometry & Vision Science to receive the award. Distinguished Professor Emeritus Dr. Jake Sivak was named an University Professor in 2007.

In addition to Jones, the Faculty of Science has three current University Professors - chemists Linda Nazar (2016), Janusz Pawliszyn (2010) and previous Dean of Science Terry McMahon (2005).