Laura Sevick named Science’s 2014 Co-op Student of the Year

Thursday, March 19, 2015

In honour of National Co-op Week, the University of Waterloo announced the 2014 Co-op Student of the Year Award from each faculty. Waterloo is a world leader in co-op education and home to the world’s largest co-op program. 

Laura SevickLaura Sevick, a 4B student in Biotechnology/Economics within the Science and Business program, is the 2014 University of Waterloo Co-op Student of the Year Award winner for the Faculty of Science.

Laura worked for St. Michael’s Hospital in 2012 and again as project manager for the COMET (Community Oncologists of Metropolitan Toronto) Clinical Trials Consortium (CCTC) during the winter of 2014. The CCTC is a virtual network that links medical oncologists across the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and surrounding region. 

Laura coordinated the re-launch of the network and ultimately ensured its success through problem solving.  She helped improve website efficiency and met one-on-one with trials staff across the GTA to better illustrate the project goals, and encourage them to join the network. 

For another project, Laura completed data analysis on curative chemotherapy for colorectal cancer patients.  She presented her research at a variety of conferences including the GI American Society of Clinical Oncology conference in San Francisco. 

In 2014, Laura spent four months volunteering as a pre-school manager in Ghanzi, Botstwana.  She helped children receive early education opportunities through the creation of essential documents such as job contracts, grant proposals and schedules.  She spent time teaching, reading and learning from the children at the school. 

In addition to her studies, Laura is involved in her local community. She has volunteered at many events in the Waterloo Region, including Congress 2012, and Waterloo’s Science Open House.

The following students are the other five recipients of the 2014 University of Waterloo Co-op Student of the Year Award: Andrew Andrade – Mechatronics Engineering (Engineering), Liam Horne – Computer Science (Mathematics), Jessica Peixoto – Environment and Business (Environment), Skye Wattie – Psychology: Arts and Business and Erin Wong – Kinesiology: Pre-Health Professions (Applied Health Sciences).

In a co-op program with 18,300 students, six remarkable individuals were selected to receive this prestigious award,” said Rocco Fondacaro, acting executive director of Co-operative Education and Career Action at Waterloo. “They personify Waterloo's drive to shape the future through innovation, boldness, and hard work. We are delighted to honour these students for their exceptional achievements.”

The Canadian Association for Co-operative Education’s National Co-op Week celebrates the growth of co-op education programs across the country.