Science welcomes six Vanier scholars

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Group image of five of the 2018 Vanier scholarsThe University of Waterloo’s Faculty of Science will be welcoming six Canadian Vanier Graduate Scholarship recipients this fall, where they will be starting their doctoral studies in Earth and Environmental Sciences as well as Physics and Astronomy.

These prestigious awards, announced earlier this month, attract top doctoral students from around the world to study at a Canadian university. Vanier scholars are chosen based on their academic excellence, research potential, and leadership qualities.

The Waterloo scholars will each receive $50,000 for three years plus a stipend for travel costs from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC). This year's winner are:

Jillian Kendrick, Earth and Environmental Sciences (Petrology, Chris Yakymchuk): Understanding the evolution of Archean continents: A metamorphic investigation of the Kapuskasing uplift, Ontario.

Andrew Camron, Physics and Astronomy (Optics, Kevin Resch): Ultrafast Photon-Pair Pulse Characterization.

David Schmid, Physics and Astronomy (Physics, Kevin Resch): Identifying quantum contextuality as a resource for quantum information processing applications.

Anna Golubeva, Physics and Astronomy (Condensed Matter Physics, Roger Melko): Quantum Machine Learning: Mutual Enhancement Between Machine Learning and Quantum Physics will LeverageQuantum Computing and Artificial Intelligence.

Florian Hopfmueller, Physics and Astronomy (Theoretical Physics and Chemistry, Laurent Freidel and Robert Myers): Edge Modes and Symmetry in Quantum Gravity.

Fiona McCarthy, Physics and Astronomy (Theoretical Physics and Chemistry, Robert Mann and David Kubiznak): Holographic Black Hole Chemistry.

Congratulations to this year's Vanier Graduate Scholarship winners.