Waterloo Science community members receive Order of Canada

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

On December 28, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada announced 120 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new member list included Donna Strickland, Anne Dagg, Paul Born and Stuart McGill, who are all affiliated with the University of Waterloo. Both Donna Strickland and Anne Dagg have connections with the Faculty of Science as well! They were appointed for outstanding contributions in their field and for enriching the lives of others.

Companion of the Order of Canada

Donna Strickland

Donna StricklandDonna Strickland is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. She was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics for her invention of chirped pulse amplification. It has several applications, including the cutting of a patient’s cornea during laser eye surgery. Professor Strickland is being recognized for her work in high-intensity laser physics.

Member of the Order of Canada

Anne Dagg

Anne DaggAnne Dagg has had a distinguished career in the field of animal biology and has been a tireless advocate for gender equality in academia. She pioneered the study of animal behaviour in the wild of Africa and is credited with being the first person to study wild giraffes. Dagg worked as a part-time lecturer at Waterloo Lutheran University in anatomy and physiology from 1962 to 1965, and then as an anatomy demonstrator at the University of Waterloo in 1966. In 1967, she received her PhD in biology from the University of Waterloo. She was awarded an honorary degree from the University of Waterloo in 2019.