You are here

Science Research Fellows

Scientific research combines curiosity, hypotheses and innovation to push the boundary of what is known. As a research intensive Faculty, Science is integral to the fundamental and applied research excellence associated with the University of Waterloo.

The Faculty of Science's network of Research Fellows support, facilitate and help catalyze research along each stage of the process. 

Research Fellows within Science

Selected by their Department Chair or School Director, the Research Fellows provide assistance, mentorship and context for research initiatives within their unit. They also raise awareness about research opportunities and resources available both internal and external to the university. 

They work in conjunction with the Associate Dean of Research and serve as advocate for the research requirements of the faculty members within their units.  

Additionally, the Science Research Fellows will provide support for:

  • advise on requests for equipment repairs and upgrades;
  • identify potential nominees for upcoming institutional, provincial, national and international awards;
  • participate in internal rankings of Science grant applications;
  • make recommendations on nomination and renewal of research chairs;
  • conduct and/or facilitate review and mentorship of grant applications;
  • disseminate information and identify opportunities for research collaboration and/or funding support.

Meet our Science Research Fellows

Biology

Prof. Roland HallRoland Hall
Office: B2 255A
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 32450
Email: rihall@uwaterloo.ca

Chemistry

Prof. Eric FillionEric Fillion
​Office: C2 390
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 32470
Email: efillion@uwaterloo.ca

 

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Prof. David BlowesDavid Blowes
Office: EIT 5004
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 84878
Email: blowes@uwaterloo.ca

Optometry and Vision Science

Prof. Chris HudsonChris Hudson
Office: OPT 335
Phone: 519-888-4567 x35562
Email: chris.hudson@uwaterloo.ca

 

Pharmacy

Prof. Shawn WettigShawn Wettig
​Office: PHR 4012
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext.21303
Email: wettig@uwaterloo.ca

Physics and Astronomy

Prof. Michel GingrasMichel Gingras
Office:  PHY 364
Phone: 519 888-4567 ext. 35697
Email: gingras@uwaterloo.ca