Terms of reference and membership

The President's Advisory Council, established in 1968-70, became known as Executive Council (EC) in 1973. Advisory to the president, EC serves as a body through which general university issues and policy matters are discussed among University of Waterloo's senior managers.

EC meets regularly and functions informally.

Secretary to Executive Council: Andrea Kelman


Title Name
President Feridun Hamdullahpur, chair
Vice-President, Academic & Provost James Rush
Vice-President, Administration & Finance  Dennis Huber
Vice-President, Advancement Joanne Shoveller
Vice-President, Research & International Charmaine Dean
Vice-President, University Relations Sandra Banks
University Secretary Karen Jack
Dean of Arts Sheila Ager
Dean of Engineering Mary Wells
Dean of Environment Jean Andrey
Dean of Health Lili Liu
Dean of Mathematics Mark Giesbrecht
Dean of Science Robert Lemieux
Associate Vice-President, Academic David DeVidi
Associate Vice-President, Government Relations Rob Esselment
Associate Vice-President, Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs Jeff Casello
Associate Vice-President, Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion Jean Becker (interim)
Associate Vice-President, Innovation Sanjeev Gill
Associate Vice-President, International  Ian Rowlands
Associate Provost, Co-operative and Experiential Education Norah McRae
Associate Provost, Human Resources Marilyn Thompson
Associate Provost, Institutional Data, Analysis & Planning Allan Starr
Associate Provost, Integrated Planning and Budgeting Jennifer Kieffer (interim)
Associate Provost, Students Chris Read
Chair, Affiliated and Federated Institutions of Waterloo Marcus Shantz
Chief Information Officer Bruce Campbell
Legal Counsel Nickola Voegelin
Registrar Cathy Newell Kelly
University Librarian Beth Namachchivaya