Winter 2016 news

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science would like to recognize the achievements of a team of UW students at the case competition of the 2016 ASNA Congress. The UW team composed of Simon Li, Arun Sithamparapillai, Sajid Virani and Nancy Yang won first prize at the national contest. Congratulations!

Winter 2014 news

New teaching award in Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science in launching its own "Distinction in Teaching Award", to recognize some of the excellent instructors in our department. The selection process will heavily rely on students' feedback, and the awarded instructor will also be nominated by the department for the Faculty of Mathematics teaching award. So if you think one of your instructors in Statistics or Actuarial Science has done particularly well teaching one of your classes, please send feedback to the department chair by March 31. Tell us what this instructor did that was particularly useful, effective and/or special and why you think they should be recognized for their efforts.

New Actuarial Science awards

For the 2013/14 academic year, a special award has been created for Actuarial Science students. For each of the 10 courses that are part of our accreditation agreement (Actuarial Science (ACTSC) 231, 232, 331, 371, 431, 432, 433, 445, 446, Statistics (STAT) 333) the student with the highest score among all offerings of the course from fall 2013 until spring 2014 will receive a $500 award. In case of a tie, the Major Average (MAV) will be used to determine the winner. This award is open only to students registered in Actuarial Science, and no application is necessary (the awardee will be determined by the associate chair for Actuarial Science).

Winter 2013 news

Pre-enrolment changes

Course selection for fall 2013 (formerly pre-enrolment)

The registrar’s office has changed around the way that pre-enrolment is being handled on campus. Starting with fall 2013, there will no longer be any enrolment appointments. This means if you fail to participate in course selection (formerly pre-enrolment) you will not be able to enrol in courses until add/drop (formerly open enrolment) on July 29, and many courses will be full.

Course selection for fall 2013 runs February 25 to March 3

If you miss these dates you can bring a paper form (course selection override) to the Statistics or Actuarial Science advisor the following week to get your courses added. After that, you will have to wait for July 29 to adjust anything.

For students wanting Actuarial Science or Statistics courses, if you fail to participate in course selection once the course fills up during open enrolment the department will not override you into the course.

We will not consider anyone for a course that is full until the first day of classes. We are planning to open up a wait list on the first day of fall term for full courses. If you do not fill out the wait list accurately and honestly you will not get into the course.

Scholarships for Actuarial Science students

The Actuarial Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2013-2014 academic year for the following scholarships:

  • Actuarial Diversity Scholarship
. Deadline: May 3, 2013
  • Actuary of Tomorrow - Stuart A. Robertson Memorial Scholarship. 
Deadline: June 1, 2013
  • John Culver Wooddy Scholarship. 
Deadline: June 21, 2013

Scholarship eligibility requirements, guidelines and applications can be found on the Actuarial Foundation website.

We look forward to receiving applications from your students.

Thank you.

About the Actuarial Foundation

The Actuarial Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization established in 1994 to help facilitate and broaden the actuarial profession's contribution to society. The Foundation develops, funds and executes education, scholarship and research programs that serve the public and the profession by harnessing the talents and resources of actuaries.

Fall 2012 news

Mathematics co-op student of the year!

For 2011, the Mathematics co-op student of the year, was an Actuarial Science student! Terrence Chin earned the title after spending a term at Mercer. He was mentioned both on the daily bulletin and the Hire Waterloo website!

Upcoming Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) talk!

On Friday, November 16 we are having an information session for students in or interested in Actuarial Science regarding the new accreditation that began this fall. The talk will be given you some visitors from CIA. They are coming specifically to speak with our students about the new accreditation.

The talk will take place on Friday, November 16 from 12:30-2:30 pm in Mathematics 3 (M3) room 1006. Any students interested in or already enrolled in Actuarial Science are encouraged to attend.

CIA accreditation!

In the middle of October Mary Hardy gave a talk regarding the CIA accreditation that is starting this fall at Waterloo, and other universities. For anyone who was unable to attend, read a summary of the CIA accreditation talk.

Advising news!

Statistics advisor Riley Metzger will be away on parental leave for the fall term, and will be replaced by Diana Skrzydlo. For the fall term, Diana Skrzydlo will only be advising Statistics and Alice Pfeifer Hanov will only be advising Actuarial Science. See their advising office hours.

Program sheets!

Some of you may have noticed that Diana and I no longer have the program sheets available outside of our offices. This is because we have now put them online! See the program sheets, and we will continue to add new ones there as needed. We are currently working on updating the old sheets to remove courses that are not offered anymore, so check back in November for the most up-to-date version of your sheets.

BUS 473 versus AFM 472!

We’ve heard some talk that non-double degree students are under the impression that BUS 473 counts as a course on the four additional list for Actuarial Science students. This is not the case. BUS 473 counts as an elective course for any students who are not in the Laurier double degree program.


This summer, Mary Hardy, was awarded the prestigious Finlaison Medal, by the U.K. Institute and Faculty of Actuaries’ Council. This medal is given out in recognition of service to the actuarial profession in furtherance of one or more of the various objects set out in Institute and Faculty of Actuaries’ Royal Charter. So next time you see her around be sure to congratulate her on this wonderful honour.

Summer 2012 news

Advising news!

Actuarial Science advisor, Alice Pfeifer Hanov, returned from maternity leave in June, and is now back holding office hours again.

The Samuel Eckler Medal in Actuarial Science award winner for 2011/2012 was Jeffrey Baer. The Eckler award is awarded to the graduating student with the highest average by Samuel Eckler, of Eckler Ltd.

Eckler award recipient

Left to right: Anthony Benjamin, Jeffrey Baer, and Jill Wagman