Thursday, August 10, 2017

Pengfei Li is a 2017 recipient of the Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching

Pengfei Li

The selection committee announced that Pengfei Li of the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science is one of the two 2017 recipiants of the Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction.  Pengfei shares this honor with David Jao from the Department of Combinatorics and Optimization.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Samuel Eckler Medal in Actuarial Science

Award winner Kieran Hendrickson-Gracie

This prize was established to recognize the contribution of Samuel Eckler to the actuarial profession and is provided by Eckler Partners. The medal, which is cast in gold, is awarded each year to the outstanding graduating student of the Honours Actuarial Science Program.

This year’s recipient is Kieran Hendrickson-Gracie who not only graduated as the top Actuarial Science major, but also has completed the five preliminary Society of Actuaries (SOA) exams, and earned three Cherry awards, in STAT 443, STAT 430, and STAT 431.

Kieran's brother Aaron Hendrickson-Gracie, was awarded the Samuel Eckler Medal in 2013.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Congratulations to Gord Willmot for being appointed as an Editor of Insurance: Mathematics and Economics

Gord Willmot

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science would like to congratulate Professor Gord Willmot for being appointed as one of the five Editors of Insurance: Mathematics and Economics (IME). 

This is the first major overhaul of the IME Editorial staff since the inception of IME in 1982.

The IME is widely viewed as the top academic actuarial journal in the world. As such, the department is very proud that Prof. Willmot has achieved this honour.  

"I am very honoured to have been asked to fulfill this role. I also believe that it is an honour for our University of Waterloo actuarial group, which further enhances our already strong reputation." Gord stated.

Monday, June 19, 2017

Professor Richard J. Cook is a winner of a University of Waterloo 2017 Award of Excellence in Graduate Supervision.

Professor Richard J. Cook

Prof. Cook has been a faculty member in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science since 1995. He is one of the most influential biostatisticians in the Canadian and international medical community and has been awarded many distinctions and several prestigious awards for his methodological research work.

Over his career, Prof. Cook has supervised 19 doctoral students, 10 post-doctoral fellows and 29 master’s students. His students have successfully obtained academic positions and have established themselves as independent researchers or taken on leading scientist roles in the pharmaceutical industry or biomedical community. The quality and rigor of the research work by students under Prof. Cook’s supervision sets a very high standard. His PhD students have earned many major awards including: 4 winners of the annual Statistical Society of Canada’s Pierre-Robillard Award for the best PhD thesis; 6 winners of the annual Sprott Scholarship Award for the best PhD thesis proposal in the department; 3 winners of the Distinguished Student Award from the International Society for Clinical Biostatistics and the International Biometrics Society Eastern North American Region; and one winner of the Canadian Journal of Statistics Prize for the best paper of the year.

  1. 2022 (7)
    1. May (3)
    2. April (1)
    3. March (1)
    4. February (1)
    5. January (1)
  2. 2021 (28)
    1. December (1)
    2. October (3)
    3. September (1)
    4. August (3)
    5. July (3)
    6. June (3)
    7. May (3)
    8. April (2)
    9. March (2)
    10. February (3)
    11. January (4)
  3. 2020 (27)
    1. November (2)
    2. October (3)
    3. September (2)
    4. August (1)
    5. July (3)
    6. June (3)
    7. May (3)
    8. April (7)
    9. March (1)
    10. January (2)
  4. 2019 (36)
  5. 2018 (25)
  6. 2017 (17)
    1. September (1)
    2. August (1)
    3. July (2)
    4. June (4)
    5. May (4)
    6. April (2)
    7. February (2)
    8. January (1)
  7. 2016 (12)
  8. 2015 (12)
  9. 2014 (20)
  10. 2013 (11)
  11. 2012 (16)
  12. 2011 (5)