Congratulations to John Dark, University of Waterloo alumnus, for becoming the President of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries for 2018/2019.

Monday, May 1, 2017

In April, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) announced that John Dark would become their president during 2018/2019.  

John's achievement will make him the third president in a row from the University of Waterloo.  Dave Dickson is the current president (2016/2017), he will be succeeded by Sharon Giffen later this year for 2017/2018 term, and John Dark will take over next year.      

Other notable past presidents were Rob Brown (Waterloo alumni) in 1990/1991, Jim Brierley (Waterloo alumni) in 1993/1994, and Harry Panjer (Distinguished Professor Emeritus) was President in 1997/1998.