Keystone spotlight

Waterloo Retirees’ Scholarship Recipient a
Community-Minded Student

By Jane Kolb
Keystone Communications Committee Volunteer
November 2016

Tegan Odland

Growing up in Enchant, Alberta, Tegan Odland had big dreams. She knew she wanted to attend one of the top schools in the country, so she made the trek to the University of Waterloo to tour the campus. Tegan, an Honours Science student, describes Waterloo as feeling like home right when she arrived — she instantly knew this was where she would lay down roots so she could pursue her goal of becoming a pharmacist.

Tegan not only excels in her academic pursuits, but is also a seasoned varsity hockey player. The majority of her week is spent studying, practicing or giving back to the community through the Team Up program, where she and her fellow athletes teach elementary school kids about the importance of teamwork. Needless to say, Tegan is a busy student!

Tegan learned that she’d received the Retirees’ Scholarship while she was at home in Alberta. As soon as she found out, she ran to her parents to share the good news. Being such an engaged student, she didn’t have as much time for a job; the scholarship allows her to continue the great work she’s been doing.

When asked how the award will affect her, Tegan speaks of her ability to continue setting challenging academic goals for herself while playing for the varsity hockey team. She’s also excited to continue to mentoring elementary school students, especially through the Reading with the Warriors program.

Tegan is incredibly grateful for the UW Retirees’ Scholarship and for everything it allows her to achieve. Thank you!

Communications Committee

Carrie Ann Nickerson, Graduate Studies (Committee Chair)

Maris Weiss, Counselling Services

Jane Kolb, Housing and Residences

Karina Graf, Co-Operative Education & Career Action

Jay Mielke, Student Success Office

Natasha Jennings, Information Systems & Technology

Micaela Buchnea-Chew, UW Food Services

Eleanor Doe, UW Food Services


Paul McKone and Tony Munro

James Skidmore

Passing the torch to a new co-chair

Warren and Mary Ober

Jessie Ashbourne