NEWS RELEASE

Office of the Executive Director

18 December 2015

The Engineering Institute of Canada is pleased to announce the 2016 recipients of its senior awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving engineering members of its technical societies.

Four recipients will be presented with senior medals at the 2016 Awards Gala ceremony in recognition of their outstanding achievements or service to the engineering profession. In addition, 20 engineers will be inducted as EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

EIC President Om Malik will present the awards to the recipients at the Institute's Annual Awards Banquet to be held at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa on 12 March 2016. Reserve this important date! We expect many friends and colleagues to join us in recognising and applauding these truly outstanding engineers.

The 2016 senior award recipients are:

JULIAN C. SMITH MEDAL

For achievement in the development of Canada R. Doug <u>Hooton</u>, CSCE Toronto, ON

K.Y. LO MEDAL

For significant engineering contributions at the international level Jean-Guy René, CSSE Longueuil, QC

JOHN B. STIRLING MEDAL

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level within the Institute and/or its Member Societies

Marc A. Rosen, CSME

Oshawa, ON

CANADIAN PACIFIC RAILWAY ENGINEERING MEDAL

For many years of leadership and service by members of the Societies within the Institute at the regional, branch and section levels.

Jean-Pierre <u>Tournier</u>, CGS/CDA Saint-Lambert, QC

To be inducted as EIC FELLOWS For exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada

Alidad Amirfazli, CSME

Reg Andres, CSCE

Toronto, ON

Jonathan Beddoes, CSSE

Winnipeg, MB

Kamran Behdinan, CSME

Toronto, ON

Alexei Botchkarev, IEEE Cda

Toronto, ON

Keith Brown, IEEE Cda

Ajax, ON

Glen Carlin, CSCE Saint-Bruno, QC

Gordon Fenton, CGS Halifax, NS Simon Foo, CSCE Ottawa, ON Ibrahim Gedeon, IEEE Cda Edmonton, AB Wolfgang Hoefer, IEEE Cda Victoria, BC Farrokh Janabi-Sharifi, CSME/IEEE Cda Toronto, ON Jim Kells, CSCE Saskatoon, SK Hugh Liu, CSME/IEEE Cda Toronto, ON Heather MacLean, CSChE Toronto, ON John McPhee, CSME Waterloo, ON Ha Nguyen, IEEE Cda Saskatoon, SK Khaled Sennah, CSCE Toronto, ON David Woeller, CGS Vancouver, BC

For information or gala tickets, please contact the Engineering Institute of Canada Tel: (613) 400-1786 / email: admin.officer@eic-ici.ca / website: www.eic-ici.ca

Jiujun Zhang, CSChE

Richmond, BC