You are here

About 3MT

2016 3MT university-wide finalists

The 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) is a university-wide competition for research-based masters and doctoral students at the University of Waterloo. Pictured above - 2015 university-wide finalists and competition judges.

Competitors have 1 static slide and 3 minutes to explain the breadth and significance of their research to a non-specialist audience. 

The 3MT was established by the University of Queensland (UQ) in 2008 and has quickly gained momentum in the years following it's inception. In September 2010 the first Trans-Tasman competition was held, with 33 universities participating from Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific. 

In April 2013 the first Ontario provincial 3MT competition was held at Queen's University, Kingston. Subsequent provincial competitions have been held at McMaster University, Hamilton (2014), and Western University, London (2015). This year the provincial 3MT will be hosted by our neighbours down the street at Wilfrid Laurier University, on Thursday, April 14, 2016.

The winners of the provincial 3MT competition advance to the National Three Minute Thesis competition, which is hosted by the Canadian Association of Graduate Studies (CAGS).