You are here


The University of Waterloo 3MT has two stages: a faculty-based competition, and a University-wide competition for finalists. To learn more about competing in the 3MT, review the below checklist.

Checklist for the 3MT competitors

  1. Review the eligibility, presentation rules, judging criteria, confidentiality and intellectual property.
  2. Register for the 3MT competition (webform)
    Deadline: Friday, January 26, 2018
  3. Register for the 3MT coaching sessions (optional), taking place January 18 and January 25, 2018
  4. A 3MT representative from your faculty will be contacting you after January 26 with information about the schedule for your faculty-based heat.
  5. Review the 3MT slide submission requirements and prepare your oral presentation.
  6. Upload your slide in PDF format by the submission deadline of your faculty-based heat.
  7. Compete!  Be sure to invite your supervisor, family and friends. All competitions are open to the public.  Everyone is welcome!
  8. If you are selected as one of the finalists to represent your faculty, a 3MT representative from Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs will be contacting you with information about the university-wide finals, held on March 21.

Other resources: