A collage of a train, car and plane moving through greenery

8:00 a.m.

Registration and networking breakfast

9:00 a.m.

Welcome and opening remarks

Find your seat and settle in for a provocative morning filled with expert perspectives, lively debate, big innovations (of course), and even bigger bets. 

  • Charmaine Dean, Vice-President, Research & International, University of Waterloo 

  • Yung Wu, CEO, MaRS Discovery District 

  • Vivek Goel, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Waterloo  

9:20 a.m.

Suzanne Kearns, Founding Director, Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Aeronautics

Innovation spotlight

9:40 a.m.

Electric vehicles: the promise and practicalities of mass adoption

Panel discussion 

Moderator: Tyler Hamilton, MaRS 

Electric vehicles are being heralded as the “future of the automotive industry.” With consumer demand for EVs on the rise, are all stakeholders ready to make the transition?

  • Yverick Pascal Rangom, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Waterloo 

  • Zak Lefevre, CEO and founder, ChargeLab

  • Mabel Fulford, Director, Innovation Partnerships, Peak Power

10:05 a.m.

Waterloop: Waterloo’s inspired student team answering the hyperloop challenge

Innovation spotlight

10:15 a.m.

Networking break

10:40 a.m.

Meet the innovators with Canadian Business’ Laura Hensley

Panel discussion

Moderator:Laura Hensley, Journalist and Digital Director, Canadian Business 

Get to know top young innovators who are moving the needle (and the people and products) towards a more sustainable, and equitable future. 

11:25 a.m.

Infrastructure, policy and access for sustainable travel

Panel discussion

Moderator: Jessie Ma, Assistant Professor & Ontario Research Chair in Sustainable Energy, University of Waterloo 

The University of Waterloo and MaRS are at the cutting edge of sustainable travel innovation, but it takes more than the technology to be successful. Experts discuss the policies and planning crucial to designing more sustainable journeys.  

  • Lisa Aultman-Hall, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Waterloo  

  • Jeff Casello, Professor, School of Planning, University of Waterloo  

  • Markus Moos, Director, School of Planning, University of Waterloo 

11:55 a.m.

Closing remarks