Noon Hour Online concert: Music for 1, 2, & 3

Wednesday, February 9, 2022 12:30 pm - 12:30 pm EST

Jody Davenport

Peter Shackleton

This intriguing concert features the following performers.  It will be released as a Youtube Premiere on February 9 at 12:30pm.  Join us and enjoy the chat.

Judith Davenport, viola

Peter Shackleton, clarinet

Anna Ronai, piano


Alan Hovhaness        Chahagir for Viola Solo, opus 56A

This expressive solo work for viola was written as Hovhannes was turning away from Western European music and beginning to immerse himself in his Armenian heritage, particularly the music and its modes. Hovhaness’s work for solo viola, Chahagir, means “Torch Bearer.” It holds significant meaning in the Armenian Orthodox Church, as they proclaim themselves to be torch bearers for their faith.  The dark, rich tone of the solo viola is well-suited to the somber mood of the piece, which has an overall processional feel.

Rebecca Clarke         Prelude, Allegro and Pastorale for Clarinet and Viola

Written in 1941 for her brother and sister-in-law, Clarke modestly described her “Prelude, Allegro, and Pastorale” as (quote): “… very unpretentious: a short, unassuming little prelude… The second movement should sound very spirited… The third movement, Pastorale, is rather melancholy and nostalgic…”  Much of Rebecca Clarke’s music remained unpublished during her lifetime, with renewed public interest in the ‘70s and the establishment of the Rebecca Clarke Society in 2000 to promote the performance of her music.

Max Bruch                 Selections from Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola and Piano

One of Bruch’s most well-known chamber works is his collection of Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola and Piano, op. 83 written in 1910 for his twenty-five-year-old son, Max Felix, who was just beginning his career as a professional clarinetist.  By pairing the rich, mellow colours of the clarinet and viola, Bruch gives us a set of short miniatures full of lyrical melodies and romantic harmonies.