Workshop

White Fragility: Why it's so hard to for white people to talk about racism book coverIn September, Professor Frankie Condon, who has conducted extensive research in anti-racism rhetoric and anti-racism pedagogy, will lead the discussion of Robin DiAngelo’s, White Fragility (2018), the New York Times bestseller that gained international prominence in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd in the US.

Canadian Engineering Grand Challenges and Technological Stewardship poster

Did you know that not all Canadians have access to safe water or reliable clean energy? Our aging infrastructure present unique challenges and we need your help to overcome them!

Come join us for a 90-minute student led workshop where you will be introduced to the Canadian Engineering Grand Challenges (CEGC) and you will be provided an opportunity to explore how engineers can envision and develop a safe and sustainable world.

Thursday, October 6, 2022 11:00 am - 2:00 pm EDT

Tri-Agency Write In

If you are applying for an OGS/QEII-GSST, CIHR, NSERC, or SSHRC scholarship to fund your graduate studies, you will need to submit a research proposal as part of your application package. Drop into this live, in-person event to choose your own adventure from four options:

  • Writing: Write alongside other applicants to make progress on your proposal
  • Workshop: Make your way through the WCC’s online Tri-Agency Scholarship's "Writing Your Research Proposal" workshop
  • Peer Review: give feedback to other applicants and receive feedback on your proposal-in-progress through a guided peer-review session
  • Q&A: Ask questions and receive feedback from WCC staff
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT Wednesday, October 12, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT Wednesday, October 19, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT Wednesday, October 26, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT Wednesday, November 2, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT Wednesday, November 9, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, November 16, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, November 23, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, November 30, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, December 7, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, December 14, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST Wednesday, December 21, 2022 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST

Writing Café (in-person)

To help you stay connected and motivated, the WCC offers writing café sessions each week where graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty can write together, support each other, and get support from the WCC.

Tuesday, September 27, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, September 30, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, October 4, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, October 7, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, October 11, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, October 14, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, October 18, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, October 21, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, October 25, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, October 28, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, November 1, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Friday, November 4, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EDT Tuesday, November 8, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, November 11, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, November 15, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, November 18, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, November 22, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, November 25, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, November 29, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, December 2, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, December 6, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, December 9, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, December 13, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, December 16, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Tuesday, December 20, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST Friday, December 23, 2022 9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST

Writing Café (online)

To help you stay connected and motivated, the WCC offers writing café sessions each week where graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty can write together, support each other, and get support from the WCC.

Monday, September 12, 2022 12:00 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2022 11:59 pm EDT

The Zero Experience

Get the tools to analyze and design solutions for problems affecting millions of people, network with internationally awarded leaders in innovation, and learn how to transform vague ideas into realities, all in just two hours a week.

In this must-see workshop, the legendary Professor Larry Smith will discuss what makes an important problem, why pursuing important problems is advantageous for start-up founders and business owners, and how students can uncover important problems.