Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:
Friday, May 29, 2020

Hug Lab recent successes

Hug Lab has had an eventful and productive 2019-2020 fellowship season!

Dr. Daniel Grégoire was awarded a prestigious NSERC Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Lisa Johnson was awarded an NSERC CGS-D.

Nikhil George was awarded an NSERC PGS-D.

Grant Jensen was awarded an OGS and was a Pioneers in Microbiology award recipient from the Department of Biology

Veronica Viljakainen received the Dr. Hugh Bernard Noel Hynes Memorial Graduate Scholarship from the Department of Biology

Congratulations all!

Rebecca Co was awarded the Terry Beveridge Student Poster Award at the 68th annual Canadian Society for Microbiologists conference in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Her poster was selected to compete, and then adjudicated as one of the top three posters at the conference.

Rebecca was also honoured with the Ram and Lekha Tumkur memorial graduate scholarship for 2018, a scholarship awarded by the Department of Biology at the University of Waterloo.

Congratulations Rebecca!

Hug lab members Nikhil George, Veronica Viljakainen, and Angus Hilts were honoured with the Waterloo Pioneers in Microbiology Graduate Award at the Department of Biology award reception. The Pioneers in Microbiology award is given annually to students in the first year of their graduate program who demonstrate strong research ability, scholastic aptitude, and an interest in pursuing microbiology.

Congrats Angus, Nikhil, and Veronica!