Evelyn Yim and Aiping Yu, both chemical engineering professors, have been designated University of Waterloo Research Chairs along with seven other professors across the campus.

Yim, who joined Waterloo Engineering in 2016, is an expert in nanofabrication technologies and is one of the leading researchers studying the use ofEvelyn Yim synthetic materials for altering stem cell behavior and differentiation of stem cell culture.

She and her Regenerative Nanomedicine Lab group are working to apply the knowledge of biomaterial-stem cell interaction to direct stem cell differentiation and tissue regeneration for neural, vascular and corneal tissue engineering.

Evelyn Yim of chemical engineering is a new University Research Chair.

Yim is a researcher with Waterloo’s Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology and the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology.    

Recipient of a prestigious Steacie fellowship 

Yu, who joined Waterloo Engineering in 2009, is the director of the Carbon Nanomaterials Laboratory for Renewable Energy and Multi-functional Composites, and a researcher at the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology.

Her work is primarily focused on materials development for energy storage and conversion, photocatalysts, and nanocomposites.

Yu's research goal is to develop lightweight, high energy density and long cycle life hybrid supercapacitors that combine the advantages of battery and supercapacitors for automobile and electronic devices.

In 2020, Yu received a E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada to help establish a world-leading carbon nanotechnology centre at the University of Waterloo.

Recognizing outstanding accomplishments

The Office of the Vice-President, Academic & Provost said that the University owes much of its reputation and stature to the quality of its professors and their scholarly accomplishments.

"The University of Waterloo recognizes exceptional achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge through the designation 'University Research Chair',” said the official announcement from the Office of the Vice-President, Academic & Provost.

Since 2004, Waterloo has granted 123 University Research Chair awards, including this year’s recipients.

*Banner photo is of Aiping Yu, a new University Research Chair