Blog

The UWCISA maintains an official blog about technology, security, analytics and innovation in the world of audit and business.


2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: SBF Gets 25, Getting "Glassdoored", Microsoft AI Expansion, $9 for AI Nurses, and Florida's Teen Social Media Ban

Wednesday, April 3, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: AI Agents take on Software Engineering, Grok Open-Sourced, Figure's OpenAI Assisted Robot, TikTok Ban, and EU's AI Legislation

Monday, March 18, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Google Faces an Unexpected AI Competitor, AI Overreach at Work, Sam's Back, SEC's Climate Disclosure Rules, and Apple $2 billion Fine

Monday, March 11, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Claude3 is Live in Canada, Elon Sues OpenAI, OpenAI Responds, NVIDIA hits $2 Trillion & IEEE on Prompt Engineering

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: OpenAI's Text to Video Breakthrough, Nvidia faces competition, Apple Trashes its Car, Google inks a deal with Reddit and unveils Gemini 1.5

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Apple Vision Pro Review, Bitcoin's Transparent Reality, Bard get a Makeover, €2 Billion Bitcoin Seized and Robots Need Humans After All

Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Apple's AI Gambit, Meta's Forays into AI, Canada Deals with LegalGPT, and Moody's Take on Shell Companies

Friday, January 26, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Bitcoin ETFs, Open AI SOC2 Compliant Offering, GPT Store is Ready, SEC gets Hacked, and AI-Laptops invade CES

Friday, January 12, 2024

Five Top Tech Takeaways: AI's 24 Billion Benchmark, OpenAI Revenue Prediction, Google's DuetAI, AI Makes Music and Microsoft's Mobile AI 

Tuesday, January 2, 2024

2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: UWCISA Launches Coffee Break PD, OpenAI Drama Continues, News from Google and DeFi gets Hacked!

Friday, December 8, 2023

A Black Friday Reflection: The Art of Want and Apple's Marketing Mastery

Thursday, November 23, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: OpenAI's Sam Altman FIRED on Friday, hired at MICROSOFT on Monday + Hackers Take Advantage of SEC Rule + 3 other stories

Monday, November 20, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: SBF Gets Convicted, Elon Releases Grok, OpenAI's AppStore, Samsung's AI Plunge and Neuralink's Human Trials

Thursday, November 9, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Google's $18B Anti-Trust Woes, Hidden AI Workers, AI Beats Going to Uni, AI Executive Order and Can AI Pass Accounting?

Tuesday, October 31, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Lawyer/GenAI Trouble (Again), FTX Insider on the Stand, Coffee Badging Explored, Adobe Strikes Back, and Quantum Computing in Canada

Thursday, October 19, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Writers Get Concessions on AI, FTX's Auditor Sued by the SEC, Windows 11 goes AI, and Dalhousie's Battery Discovery

Monday, October 2, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: MBAs vs AI, Bitfinex Hacker Comes Clean, and Big Open AI and Google Bard Updates

Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Apple's Carbon Neutrality Questioned, Fairphone 5 Launches, Binance US's CEO Leaves and a Privacy Nightmare on Wheels

Monday, September 18, 2023

From iPhone Chargers to Carbon Footprints: Apple's ESG Messaging Unpacked

Wednesday, September 13, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: GenAI and CFOs + Impact on Jobs, Gartner's Take on AI & the Hype Cycle, and how Anguilla is Cashing In on AI

Tuesday, September 5, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Nvidia's Billions, UN on AI & Jobs, Smucker's Approach to Hybrid, RoboTaxis Put on Pause and more

Monday, August 28, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: SBF Gets Locked Up, Coinbase's Canadian Foray, AI Startups vie with Giants, LK-99 Update, and a Mind-Reading Breakthrough

Monday, August 21, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: AI Bans at Work, Disney Hiring AI to Cut Costs, RoboTaxis are Here, Anxiety over Voyager 2 and ChatGPT can't add?

Friday, August 11, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Netflix's Sea of Cash, Superconductivity breakthrough, Farmers Gets Emojied, and Tech Bets Big on AI

Friday, August 4, 2023

Five Top Tech Takeaways: Twitter $20 Billion Brand Bonfire, No Bard for Canada, Apple's GPT and AI Regulations

Wednesday, July 26, 2023

Top Five Tech Takeaways: Llama2 joins the GenAI Fray, XRP Mixed Judgment, Co-pilot Pricing Announced, Tech Reacts to Bill C-18, and Code Interpreter Debuts

Thursday, July 20, 2023

Beyond the Writer's Strike: Will AI Lead to a Renaissance of Artist Driven Content?

Thursday, July 13, 2023

Furious Five: Meta Launches Twitter Rival, AI at the Big 4, FTX relaunch & lawsuit, and Open-AI shuts off Browse-with-Bing

Tuesday, July 11, 2023

The Furious Five (July 4th): Two Approaches to Voice-Enabled-AI, N. Arica's First Hydrogen Train, and Is GenAI about Amplification, not Abdication?

Tuesday, July 4, 2023

The Furious Five (June 27):Adobe/Meta AI Moves, Netflix's Anti-Sharing Economy, and the Titan Tragedy

Tuesday, June 27, 2023

The Furious Five for June 20: AI, Tech, and Business Stories You May Have Missed

Tuesday, June 20, 2023

The Furious Five for June 13: Tech and Business Stories You May Have Missed

Tuesday, June 13, 2023

Tech, AI, Auditing & Beyond: 5 Stories from Last Week

Tuesday, June 6, 2023

In the Midst of the Writer's Strike, Is AI Set to Take Centre Stage in Hollywood?

Saturday, May 27, 2023

Is the SVB Collapse the Start of Another Financial Meltdown? A look at what went down!

Thursday, March 16, 2023

The Battle for AI Search Heats Up: Latest Developments from Microsoft and Google

Sunday, February 12, 2023

The Terminator in the Kitchen: How Robots are Changing the World of Fast Food

Monday, January 16, 2023

Welcome to 2023! What are five key tech trends that CPAs should be aware of?

Tuesday, January 3, 2023