Leadership and governance

Senate chambers

The University of Waterloo follows a shared governance model which includes extensive consultation and respect for a diversity of views. A number of groups participate at various levels of governance at the university and bring the voice and perspective of the university’s stakeholders to institutional decision-making. Under shared governance, different individuals and groups are given primary authority for decisions within their area of oversight, and collaboration, consultation and cooperation are pillars of university decision-making. The Board of Governors, Senate, the President and Vice-Presidents Committee, Dean’s Council and the Executive Council work together within their roles and accountabilities to govern the university and advance the University’s vision.


The University vision is articulated through the principles of Waterloo at 100 developed collaboratively by the various stakeholders in the University and endorsed by the Board and Senate.