CSTV Advisory Committee

Terms of Reference

The CSTV Advisory Committee supports CSTV by offering advice and guidance. 

  • The CSTV Advisory Committee will meet as a group at least twice per year. Outside formal meetings, the Director is free to solicit advice from individual members. 

  • The initial 2023-25 Committee consist of five to 10 members from the UW community, which includes the six UW Faculties, the Affiliated and Federated Institutions of Waterloo, local organizations, and select individuals. While members will have varying interests in teaching, research, and outreach, they will be in agreement with the Centre’s core mission and values. 

 The primary mandate for the Advisory Committee for its first two years (2023 to 2025) is: 

  • Advise on curriculum, course development, and major modifications to the STV Option, to provide a path for all UW students to become responsible technological critics, designers, and users.  

  • Advise on establishment of CSTV Associate Faculty membership and responsibilities.  

  • Advise on enlarging the scope of the Centre beyond its current undergraduate teaching focus towards one that includes organized research, graduate level teaching and/or supervision, and community outreach. 

Advisory Committee (2023-2025)

  • Matt Borland (Department of Systems Design Engineering)
  • Paul Heidebrecht (Kindred Credit Union Centre for Peace Advancement)
  • Nadine Ibrahim (Turkstra Chair in Urban Engineering, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • Heather Love (Department of English)
  • Branka Marijan (Project Ploughshares)
  • Cosmin Munteanu (Schlegel Research Chair in Technology for Healthy Aging, Department of Systems Design Engineering)
  • Carter Neal (Department of English)
  • Marcel O’Gorman (Department of English)
  • Alexi Orchard (Department of English)