President Feridun Hamdullahpur speaks at the 60th Anniversary Gala event.

A gala event hosted by President Feridun Hamdullahpur celebrated the outstanding alumni, partners, students, faculty and staff who have invested in the University of Waterloo's past, present and future.

The President’s 60th Anniversary Gala took place on Saturday, December 2 and was the latest celebration in a year of events and activities that have taken place during Waterloo's anniversary year.

The event honoured those who have made a significant contribution to the institution, including recipients of the 60th Anniversary Alumni Awards and the winners of the inaugural President’s Community Impact awards. 

"You have been part of our collective history, but more importantly, you are part of our future," said President Hamdullahpur during his introductory remarks. "Through your dedication to the University of Waterloo community you are helping build a legacy that continuously impacts the world in so many positive ways. I thank you for this tremendous legacy."

60th Anniversary Alumni Awards recognize outstanding Waterloo alumni

John Pollock, Danny Ying, Blair McArthur, Karen Wilkinson, David McKay, President Hamdullaphur, Toby Jenkins, Tom Jenkins, Robert Ewen, and Marta Witer.

Left to right: John Pollock, Danny Ying, Blair McArthur, Karen Wilkinson, David McKay, President Hamdullahpur, Toby Jenkins, Tom Jenkins, Robert Ewen, and Marta Witer.

On December 2, the recipients of the inaugural 60th Anniversary Alumni Awards were honoured at the President's 60th Anniversary Gala.

This was the pinnacle 60th anniversary celebration event for the University and celebrated the award recipients’ extraordinary citizenship to Waterloo.

The 60th Anniversary Alumni Awards recognized 10 outstanding alumni for their personal commitment and citizenship to Waterloo, building on the legacy of the 50th Anniversary Alumni Award, created by the Alumni Council in 2007. The Alumni Council commissioned an alumni artist, Paul Roorda (BA ’88) to create a piece of art as a memento for each of the recipients.

Awards were given to:

We thank these outstanding alumni and donors for investing in Waterloo’s future.