Hexagonal crystal system

The hexagonal system has four crystallographic axes consisting of three equal horizontal, or equilateral axes at 120 degrees to each other, as well as one vertical axis which is perpendicular to the other three. This vertical axis can be longer or shorter than the horizontal axes.

The system has the following forms:

  • Prism
  • Pinacoid
  • Dipyramid
  • Ditrigonal Pyramid
  • Trigonal Prism
  • Ditrigonal Prism.

Diagrams from http://www.tulane.edu/~sanelson/eens211/forms_zones_habit.htm