$2M awarded to Water Institute researchers

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Congratulations to Water Institute members Laura Hug and Janusz Pawliszyn, who will receive a combined total of $2M through the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) and Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF).

Three other researchers from the University of Waterloo received funding as well. All are from Waterloo’s Faculties of Science, Arts and Engineering: 

  • Chris Eliasmith (Philosophy & Systems Design Engineering) – CRC advancement from Tier 2 to Tier 1 in Theoretical Neuroscience
  • Laura Hug (Biology) – New Tier 2 CRC in Environmental Microbiology
  • Raafat Mansour (Electrical and Computer Engineering) – Renewed Tier 1 CRC in Micro and Nano Integrated Radio Frequency (RF) Systems 
  • Janusz Pawliszyn (Chemistry) – Renewed Tier 1 CRC in New Analytical Methods and Technologies 
  • Catherine Rosenberg (Electrical and Computer Engineering) – Renewed Tier 1 CRC in the Future Internet