UWaterloo 3MT winners are announced

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Fifteen of Waterloo's top Three Minute Thesis (3MT) finalists from across six faculties gathered to compete in the university-wide final event on Wednesday, March 20 in the Theatre of the Arts, ML. With topics ranging from the right to die for mature minors to the value of ornament in Architecture, the esteemed 3MT judges were challenged in selecting just two winners. Audience members cast their vote for People's Choice using smartphones.  The winners of the 3MT university-wide final event are:

First place and People's Choice winner:


Haya Almutairi, PhD Candidate, Civil and

Environmental Engineering 

Presentation title: Self-healing asphalt pavements

  • Haya advances to the Ontario Provincial 3MT competition to represent Waterloo
  • Winner of $1000 prize


Nilanth Yogadasan

Nilanth Yogadasan, MSc Candidate, Biology

Presentation title: Understanding Rubisco regulation and its importance in improving photosynthetic efficiency

  • Nilanth is the winner of a $500 prize
  1. 2019 (37)
    1. September (2)
    2. August (1)
    3. July (5)
    4. June (6)
    5. May (6)
    6. April (5)
    7. March (5)
    8. February (4)
    9. January (3)
  2. 2018 (7)