Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

In late June, Dr. Terry Copp, C. M., professor emeritus in history from Wilfrid Laurier University was appointed Member of the Order of Canada by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General. He co-founded and is director emeritus of the Laurier Centre for Military and Strategic Disarmament Studies, (now Laurier Centre for the Study of Canada) where he fostered a rich community of scholarship and cemented Canada’s role in the Second World War. His ongoing work is a legacy to future generations and their knowledge of our past. An investiture ceremony will take place at a later date.

The Tri-University History program congratulates two professors, Dr. Talena Atfield and Dr. Lianne C. Leddy on their Canada Research Chair awards. 

Dr. Leddy holds the Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Histories and Historical Practice in Canada at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Dr. Atfield holds the Canada Research Chair in Tentewatenikonhra'khánion (We Will Put Our Minds Together) at the University of Waterloo.

"An outstanding doctoral candidate in History, Rebecca MacAlpine is a dedicated, disciplined, and thoughtful student, and she brings those same characteristics to her roles as TA, instructor, and most recently departmental TA Mentor and Coordinator."