The Honourable Roy Romanow, former Premier of Saskatchewan, and Robert Tarjan, a professor of computer science at Princeton University will receive honorary doctorates at the University of Waterloo’s 111th convocation ceremonies this week.

Romanow, also a former spokesperson and advisory board co-chair of Waterloo’s Canadian Index of Wellbeing, will receive a Doctor of Laws on Friday, October 23 at the ceremony for graduates of the Faculty of Applied Health Sciences and Faculty of Science.

Tarjan, who has received the Turing Award - the most prestigious award in computer science, will receive a Doctor of Mathematics at the ceremony for graduates of the Faculty of Mathematics and the Faculty of Environment.

Waterloo History Professor Jim Walker, will speak at the ceremony for Faculty of Arts graduates on Saturday, October 24. Walker, who has published widely on issues of race relations and human rights, has been awarded the Bora Laskin National Fellow in Human Rights Research and was elected by his peers as a Fellow of the Roysal Society of Canada in 2013.

Lionel Oyahyon, founder and CEO of ICRAVE, an innovation and design studio based in New York City, will speak to graduates of the Faculty of Engineering on Saturday October 24. Oyahyon, a graduate of Waterloo’s architecture progam, is an internationally-renowned entrepreneur involved in award-winning concepts that include John F. Kennedy International Airport, the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and mixed-use developments in Lower Manhattan.

Learn more about Waterloo's Fall Convocation.