Filter by:

Limit to profiles where the name matches:
Limit to profiles where the type is one or more of:

Chris Houser

Dean of Science | Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Chris Houser is the Dean of Science and Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of Waterloo. His research examines the response and recovery of coastal barriers to extreme storms and changes in wave activity with a changing climate. He also conducts research on beach safety at the interface of the social sciences and psychology to reduce the number of rescues and drownings.

Conrard Giresse Tetsassi Feugmo

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry

Dr. Conrard G. Tetsassi Feugmo, an assistant professor in the Chemistry department at the University of Waterloo, employs various computational techniques, including Density Functional Theory (DFT), Molecular Dynamics (MD), and Phase Field Crystal (PFC), along with machine learning (ML) to design materials for energy storage and conversion technologies, such as hydrogen technology and High Entropy Alloys for aerospace applications.

Ben Thompson

Professor, Optometry and Vision Science

Dr. Ben Thompson is a professor in the Department of Optometry and Vision Science, working out of the Human Visual Neuroscience Laboratory. Thompson’s research is concerned with human visual cortex development and plasticity. With regard to aviation, he is interested in techniques that can enhance performance on new visual tasks such as those encountered during training programs for pilots and air traffic controllers. 

Elizabeth Irving

Professor, Optometry and Vision Science

Dr. Elizabeth Irving is a clinician/scientist with internationally recognized expertise in vision science including eye tracking and binocular vision. Good vision is widely being advocated as an important factor learning. Irving has led a variety of different types of studies; evaluating ocular parameters, validating novel testing procedures, investigating the need for stereopsis (depth perception) in military helicopter pilots, studying the effects of space flight on the eye, studying eye tracking in concussion and investigating new ways of educating the public on eye disease and eye care.

John Honek

Professor, Department of Chemistry

Professor Honek received his B.Sc. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from McGill University and undertook a postdoctoral fellowship at MIT (USA). His research focuses on the application of chemistry to biological systems and includes investigations on advanced bionanomaterials. He was the recipient of the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s 2014 Bernard Belleau Award presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of medicinal chemistry through research involving biochemical or organic chemical mechanisms. 

John Thompson

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Biology

John Thompson is a retired professor in the department of biology. His research interests included biochemistry and molecular biology of programmed cell death: the molecular basis of membrane deterioration in senescing and aging tissues; comparative aspects of senescence and stress including the role of hormones and the involvement of free radicals; functional genomics of senescence and apoptosis. 

Kirsten Müller

Professor, Chair, Department of Biology

Kirsten Müller is a Professor and Chair of the Department of Biology at the University of Waterloo. Dr. Müller's research focuses on speciation, taxonomy, ecology, and evolution of algae included harmful algal blooms. Dr. Müller is the recipient of several awards including; an Outstanding Performance Award, University of Waterloo (2016, 2019); Excellence in Science Teaching Award (ESTA), Faculty of Science; University of Waterloo (2016); Luigi Provasoli Award in recognition for authoring an outstanding paper published in the Journal of Phycology, Phycological Society of America (2011).  Dr. Müller is also the Past President of the Phycological Society of America (2018-2020) and Managing Editor of the Journal of Phycology (2022-2027).

Michael Beazely

Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy

Prof. Beazely received his PhD in molecular pharmacology in 2004 after completing his pharmacy degree in 2000. His clinical research includes the evaluation of undergraduate pharmacy education with respect to substance use and ongoing educational tool development for practicing health professionals.

Sherilyn Houle

Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy

Dr. Sherilyn Houle is a pharmacist and pharmacy practice researcher, receiving her pharmacy degree from the University of Saskatchewan and PhD from the University of Alberta. With research and clinical expertise in travel medicine, she has an interest in air travel-related health issues, travel trends, and health and medication use among aviation professionals.

Shirley Tang

Associate Dean of Science, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Board Member

Shirley Tang is a professor and associate dean of science at the University of Waterloo. She carries out research in nanotechnology. Central to her effort is the creation of materials and devices based on graphene, carbon nanotubes, and their chemical derivatives, primarily for biomedical applications. Her research interests encompass nanomaterials and nanodevices for biology and medicine, biomolecule assisted nanomaterial self-assembly, and the health and environmental effects of engineered nanomaterials. Her lab is equipped with state-of-the-art instruments tailored for nanocarbon-based synthesis and characterization and a biosafety II cell culture lab dedicated to the investigation of nanocarbon-biosystem interactions. 

Tong Leung

Director, Waterloo Advanced Technology Laboratory; Professor, Chemistry

Dr. Tong Leung is a chemical physicist working with emerging materials and their applications. His research explores the fundamental chemistry and physics occurring on the surfaces of novel materials, including low-dimensional nanostructural materials, as well as potential applications of these materials.

Vivek Maheshwari

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

Dr. Vivek Maheshwari is an active researcher and educator, with a PhD from Virginia Tech in 2007. His research focuses on photovoltaics and energy harvesting technology, development of electrocatalysts and composites and material design. Applying the materials for use in sensors and devices is also a key area of his research, including developing flexible devices and scale up manufacturing. He was awarded the Early Researcher Award in 2015.