United Way Ambassador Volunteers

United Way volunteers wrapping the UW entrance sign in red

United Way Ambassadors play a key role in the execution of the annual campaign by helping raise awareness about the University's United Way campaign and running the campaign in your own departments.

Fill in this form if you're interested in volunteering as an Ambassador

Benefits of volunteering as an Ambassador

  • Give back and support your community
  • Opportunity to connect with colleagues across campus
  • Chance to develop new skills
  • Excellent feature for your performance evaluation

Volunteer requirements

  • Be a positive supporter of the University of Waterloo’s United Way campaign
  • Be a member of the University of Waterloo community
  • Have some flexibility in work schedule during the Fall term
  • Possess or have a desire to build strong communication and team-building skills

Roles and responsibilities

Learning & Inspiration

  • Watch the United Way Ambassador Training Video (sent to you prior to the campaign launch) to learn more about community issues, United Way, and how to be a great volunteer
  • Attend the United Way Kick-Off meeting to get inspired for the campaign, learn more about United Way and its impact for our community

Awareness Building

  • GO RED & decorate your office space or your home office for the October campaign
  • Make your colleagues aware that it is United Way campaign time: share it via email, at a department meeting etc.
  • Run an event (or team up with other Ambassadors) to raise money and awareness about the University of Waterloo's United Way campaign

Information Sharing

  • Share information with your colleagues about the United Way campaign, how to donate and what events are happening on campus
  • Know where to refer your colleagues if they have questions about United Way or the University's campaign
  • Ensure that campaign materials are visible and accessible for the campaign period (October 1 - 31)

Time commitment

10 - 15 hours total

  • Watch the United Way Ambassador Training Video mid-September (30 minutes max.)
  • Attend the United Way Kick-Off meeting in September (30 to 60 minutes)
  • Awareness building and information sharing during the active campaign period of October 1 - 31 (5 - 10 hours)
  • Planning events and fundraisers within your department for the campaign (2-5 hours)
  • Report back to our Campaign Coordinator on any campaign event funds raised, send pictures and stories of how your department got involved (1 hour)

OUR 2021 AMBASSADORS

The UWaterloo United Way Campaign is made possible by a large number of volunteers. Our Ambassadors are listed below. 

First name Last name Email Department/Unit
Colin Jones cjones@uwaterloo.ca Centre for Extended Learning
Hannah Sesink hsesink@uwaterloo.ca WATPD
Michelle Mank mank@uwaterloo.ca IST
Karen Dubois karen.dubois@uwaterloo.ca Dean of Engineering Office
Sarah Martin s3martin@uwaterloo.ca Library
Stefaniada Voichita svoichit@uwaterloo.ca Library
Stacey Koch stacey.koch@uwaterloo.ca MME
Christina Yee ccyee@uwaterloo.ca Office of Research
Megan Hannath megan.hannath@uwaterloo.ca Advancement

Jonathan 

Hyde j2hyde@uwaterloo.ca Plant Operations
Amanda Annarilli aannarilli@uwaterloo.ca Student's Success Office
Dana MacMillan dgmacmillan@uwaterloo.ca Stratford School of Business and Design
Clare Bermingham clare.bermingham@uwaterloo.ca Writing Communication Centre
Laureen Gehl lgehl@uwaterloo.ca  Provost's Office
Carrie Jenks lkbossenberry@uwaterloo.ca University Relations
Rachel Jenson rjenson@uwaterloo.ca Co-operative and Experiential Education
Andrea Santi andrea.santi@uwaterloo.ca Co-operative and Experiential Education
Lauren Hartman l2hartma@uwaterloo.ca Faculty of Math
Rodrigo Pereira rcurtype@uwaterloo.ca Faculty of Environment
Shelly Jordan s4jordan@uwaterloo.ca Faculty of Arts
Jessica Jordao jjordao@uwaterloo.ca Registrar's Office
Maureen Jones maureen@uwaterloo.ca Registrar's Office
Jasmine Ouellette jejouell@uwaterloo.ca Registrar's Office
Susan Grant smgrant@uwaterloo.ca
Waterloo International

Don't see an Area Rep Volunteer for your department? Volunteer to be an Area Representative!