United Way Ambassador Volunteers

United Way volunteers wrapping the UW entrance sign in red

United Way Ambassadors play a key role in the execution of the annual campaign by helping raise awareness about the University's United Way campaign and running the campaign in your own departments.

Fill in this form if you're interested in volunteering as an Ambassador

Benefits of volunteering as an Ambassador

  • Give back and support your community
  • Opportunity to connect with colleagues across campus
  • Chance to develop new skills
  • Excellent feature for your performance evaluation

Volunteer requirements

  • Be a positive supporter of the University of Waterloo’s United Way campaign
  • Be a member of the University of Waterloo community
  • Have some flexibility in work schedule during the Fall term
  • Possess or have a desire to build strong communication and team-building skills

Roles and responsibilities

Learning & Inspiration

  • Watch the United Way Ambassador Training Video (sent to you prior to the campaign launch) to learn more about community issues, United Way, and how to be a great volunteer
  • Attend the United Way Kick-Off meeting to get inspired for the campaign, learn more about United Way and its impact for our community

Awareness Building

  • GO RED & decorate your office space or your home office for the October campaign
  • Make your colleagues aware that it is United Way campaign time: share it via email, at a department meeting etc.
  • Run an event (or team up with other Ambassadors) to raise money and awareness about the University of Waterloo's United Way campaign

Information Sharing

  • Share information with your colleagues about the United Way campaign, how to donate and what events are happening on campus
  • Know where to refer your colleagues if they have questions about United Way or the University's campaign
  • Ensure that campaign materials are visible and accessible for the campaign period (October 1 - 31)

Time commitment

10 - 15 hours total

  • Watch the United Way Ambassador Training Video mid-September (30 minutes max.)
  • Attend the United Way Kick-Off meeting in September (30 to 60 minutes)
  • Awareness building and information sharing during the active campaign period of October 1 - 31 (5 - 10 hours)
  • Planning events and fundraisers within your department for the campaign (2-5 hours)
  • Report back to our Campaign Coordinator on any campaign event funds raised, send pictures and stories of how your department got involved (1 hour)

OUR AMBASSADORS

The UWaterloo United Way Campaign is made possible by a large number of volunteers. Our Ambassadors are listed below. 

First name Last name Email Department/Unit
Jen  Arseneault j3arsene@uwaterloo.ca  Faculty of Mathematics
Colin Jones cjones@uwaterloo.ca Centre for Extended Learning
Hannah Sesink hsesink@uwaterloo.ca WATPD
Elena Machado emachado@uwaterloo.ca Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs
Kevin Paxman kpaxman@uwaterloo.ca IST
Michelle Mank mank@uwaterloo.ca IST
Terri Rau trau@uwaterloo.ca Legal & Immigration Services
Karen Dubois karen.dubois@uwaterloo.ca Dean of Engineering Office
Courtney Bremer courtney.bremer@uwaterloo.ca Library
Sarah Martin s3martin@uwaterloo.ca Library
Stefaniada Voichita svoichit@uwaterloo.ca Library
Stacey Koch stacey.koch@uwaterloo.ca MME
Christina Yee ccyee@uwaterloo.ca Office of Research

Jonathan 

Hyde j2hyde@uwaterloo.ca Plant Operations
Bianca Bitsakakis b4bitsak@uwaterloo.ca School of Social Work, Renison University College
Landon Jennings lmjennings@uwaterloo.ca St Paul's University College
Amanda Annarilli aannarilli@uwaterloo.ca Student's Success Office
Easton Page edpage@uwaterloo.ca WATPD
Hazel  Palmer hazel.palmer@uwaterloo.ca Stratford School of Business and Design
Colleen  Mechler cmechler@uwaterloo.ca

Chemical Engineering

Clare Bermingham clare.bermingham@uwaterloo.ca Writing Communication Centre
Emily Huxley-Osborne echuxley@uwaterloo.ca  Office of Advancement
Alex Farley alex.farley@uwaterloo.ca Office of Advancement
Anuja  Bajaj a6aggarwal@uwaterloo.ca Registrar's Office
Jenn Mackie jmackie@uwaterloo.ca Registrar's Offce
Laureen Gehl lgehl@uwaterloo.ca  Provost's Office
Laura Bossenberry lkbossenberry@uwaterloo.ca University Relations

Don't see an Area Rep Volunteer for your department? Volunteer to be an Area Representative!