Advisory Board

To promote the urban engineering vision, a Board of Advisors for the Turkstra Chair in Urban Engineering has an ongoing role to advise and support the Chairholder, and to review activities and possibly identify additional projects or opportunities.

The Tursktra Chair Advisory Board consists of 15 representatives from industry and academia. Industry members are people with diverse perspectives and extensive experience in municipal administration and/or urban engineering, having worked as a city engineer, Chief Administrative Office (CAO), consultant in a municipal engineering firm, etc. The academic representatives include the Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE), the office of the Dean of Engineering, and other CEE faculty members whose background and interests include municipal engineering.

Meeting schedule

Meetings are held once per academic term. Members of the board will hold three-year terms with the opportunity for renewal.

Past meetings:

Jan 19, 2018

April 5, 2018

July 15, 2019

November 18, 2019

November 27, 2020

March 26, 2021

December 10, 2021

December 6, 2022

Turkstra Chair Board of Advisors

  • Chris Bachmann – Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Waterloo
  • Jeff Casello – Associate Provost Graduate Studies and Professor, University of Waterloo and Senate Executive Council – University of Waterloo
  • Kealy Dedman - Commissioner of Public Works, Peel Region
  • Tim Dobbie* – Tim L. Dobbie Consulting Ltd.
  • Nenone Donaldson – Vice President, Advancement, University of Waterloo
  • Paul Eichinger – Vice President, MTE Consultants Inc. and former Director, Economic Development, City of Waterloo
  • Diane Freeman – Councillor, City of Waterloo and Former President of Professional Engineers Ontario
  • Angelo Grassa – President, Grascan Construction Ltd.
  • Rick Haldenby – Professor and Former Director, School of Architecture, University of Waterloo
  • Joanna Kervin – Third Party Technical Director at Crosslinx Transit Solutions - Constructors, and Past President of Canadian Institute of Transportation Engineers
  • Sherif Kinawy – Executive, Global Infrastructure Advisory, KPMG
  • Mike Murray – Chief Administrative Officer, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
  • Sean Strickland – Councillor, City of Waterloo
  • Prachi Surti - Director, Development and Alumni Relations, University of Waterloo
  • Amma Wakefield – Canada Regional Engineer, Asphalt Institute

*Tim Dobbie currently acts as the Chair of the Advisory Board. 

Emeritus Turkstra Chair Board of Advisors

  • Carl Haas – Chair and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Waterloo, 2018-2022
  • Carl Turkstra – Donor, 2018-2022