Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Undergraduate Student Research Awards

Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA) are meant to stimulate your interest in research in the natural sciences and engineering. They are also meant to encourage you to undertake graduate studies and pursue a research career in these fields. If you would like to gain research work experience that complements your studies in an academic setting, these awards can provide you with financial support through your host university. NSERC encourages qualified Aboriginal students to apply to this program.

Eligible students should submit the following online.

  • Part I of Form 202
  • An unofficial transcript, printed through Quest
  • Note: The proposed supervisor should submit Part II of Form 202 online. 

Visit the Biology undergraduate Student Research Awards (NSERC USRA) page for more information.

Jonathan R. Matthews Memorial Award

This annual award is given for the top academic achievement with the highest overall average in third- and fourth-year courses in undergraduate studies (Biology or Biochemistry). The $400 scholarship is named after the late Dr. Jonathan R. Matthews, who earned a PhD from Waterloo in 1976. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Waterloo when he died tragically in a car accident.

Visit the Jonathan R. Matthews Memorial Award, page for a list of past recipients. 

Professor Marilyn Griffith Senior Honours Project Excellence Award

This award, established by her colleagues in the Department of Biology in memory of Dr. Marilyn Griffith, is presented annually to recognize outstanding performance by an undergraduate student in a senior honours research project. During her distinguished career, Dr. Griffith researched how plants cope with cold temperature stress and at the time of her death, she was one of the world’s leading authorities in this area.

Visit the Professor Marilyn Griffith Senior Honours Project Excellence Award page for a list of past recipients.

Bruce Wyler Kelly Memorial Prize

Two prizes, valued at up to $150 each, are awarded to the two Science students with the highest standing at the end of Year Two. One prize is to be awarded to a student in Regular or Co-op Honours Biochemistry and one prize to a student in Regular or Co-op Honours in Biology.

For a list of past recipients, visit the Bruce Wyler Kelly Memorial Prize page.

J. Frank Brookfield Scholarship

Several scholarships,valued at a minimum of $1,000 each, are awarded annually to outstanding undergraduate students enrolled in Year Two of a Biology plan in the Faculty of Science. Selection is based on academic achievement in Year One. This fund is made possible by a donation from retired Biology instructor J. Frank Brookfield to support exceptional students studying Biology.

Visit the J. Frank Brookfield Scholarship page for a list of past recipients.

Upper Year-Biology Senate Scholarships

Awarded to students in 2A or above for recognition of outstanding academic grades.

A list of past recipients can be viewed on the Upper Year-Biology Senate Scholarships page.