Igor Acts of Kindness Day: Remembering a beloved professor

Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Last week the Department of Systems Design Engineering held Igor Acts of Kindness Day in memory of Dr. Igor Ivkovic, who passed suddenly in November 2020.

This heartwarming event brought together students, staff, and faculty to spread kindness throughout the community. Participants stopped by to write kind notes on heart-shaped sticky notes, now proudly displayed on the 6th floor. These notes serve as a reminder to be kind to one another and have already had a profound impact on those who pass by, offering words of encouragement and support.

Igor was a Lecturer and the Associate Chair Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Systems Design Engineering. He was greatly admired by students and colleagues for his enthusiasm and passion for teaching.

The event, organized by the Department of Systems Design Engineering (SYDE), aimed to promote kindness and empathy among its members and to create a more inclusive and supportive environment for all. Igor's presence was greatly felt throughout the day, as students and faculty embraced the spirit of kindness and generosity.

One particularly touching moment came when Shi Cao, SYDE Associate Professor, performed a touching musical tribute to Igor on the violin. The performance was captured on video, touching the hearts of all who watched it.

Students, faculty, and alumni alike also shared an act of kindness online to enter a random prize draw. Congratulations to our three winners: Lakshya Khanna (SYDE 4B), Ahoma Chowhury (SYDE 1B), and Hicham El Khayri (MASc MME '23)! Each will be taking home 1 of 3 Engineering swag bags. Additionally, Dr. Lisa Aultman-Hall, SYDE Professor and Chair, will donate $100 to a charity of each winner's choosing. 

Igor Acts of Kindness Day was a resounding success, thanks to the participation of everyone involved. It is a testament to the strong sense of community and compassion within SYDE and demonstrates Igor's influence on his students and fellow faculty members.