Ian Goldberg, Co-founder of CrySP, is an internationally recognized innovator in privacy enhancing technologies used by hundreds of thousands of people daily.  His invention, Off-the-Record Messaging (OTR) is described below under significant results. He is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Tor Project, Inc., a U.S.-based scientific and educational charity that provides a free system and open network that allows users to maintain their privacy while obtaining real-time access to the Web and many Internet services. In 2011, Prof. Goldberg received the Electronic Frontier Foundation’s Pioneer Award and the Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Award from the Canadian Association of Computer Science. He has recently been named a University Research Chair.

David Jao, Director of the Centre for Applied Cryptographic Research, is an expert in number theory and cryptography, with emphasis on elliptic and hyperelliptic curve cryptography. He holds six patents in privacy and security-preserving technologies, and regularly consults for Microsoft Research and the NSA.

Srinivasan Keshavis a computer science professor whose research goal for the past several years has been to apply his expertise in computer networking to find innovative solutions to large-scale problems in energy systems. This includes behavioural insights and issues in system dependability, which both impact security. His focus is on using three revolutionary technologies—solar photovoltaic generators, energy storage, and pervasive sensing—to improve the efficiency and reduce the carbon footprint of energy systems.

Alfred Menezes is an author of the Handbook of Applied Cryptography.  He is one of the inventors of an authenticated protocol for key agreement, known as MQV, which was adopted by the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). He is an expert in elliptic curve cryptography, the underlying discrete logarithm problem, and efficient implementations and protocols.

Michele Mosca is a founding researcher and evangelist for quantum-safe cryptosystems, to ensure the security for the communications and computing systems on which our economy depends is in place before quantum computers are available to adversaries. He has made major contributions to the theory and practice of quantum algorithms, quantum self-testing and private quantum channels, and has realized several of the first experimental implementations of quantum algorithms.  He leads a new NSERC CREATE Training Program in Building a Workforce for the Cryptographic Infrastructure of the 21st Century and developed the Quantum Computing graduate program.

Cameron L. Stewart, (FRSC), has a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Number Theory and has made an important contribution supporting the abc conjecture which links the additive and multiplicative structure of the integers. He works on elliptic curves and other aspects of number theory.

Douglas Stinson, (FRSC), is a pioneer in combinatorial cryptography, having used combinatorial structures in innovative ways to design and analyze unconditionally secure cryptosystems including secret sharing schemes, authentication codes and key distribution schemes. He was the first to propose the use of Reed-Solomon codes for tracing codes which were later incorporated into BluRay Disc technology.

Mahesh Tripunitara researches information security. Most of his work has been in authorization and access control. He has also worked on cryptographic key transport, secure payments, usable security, and security and reliability of computer hardware. His work tends to be a mix of fundamental and applied aspects.

Stephen Watt, Dean of the Waterloo Faculty of Mathematics, has recently become involved in the mathematics underlying non-repudiation and other forms of digital signature and authorization. His other research interests lie primarily in the areas of computer algebra (e.g. algorithms and applications of gcd and factorization of various sorts of polynomials), programming languages and compilers (e.g. implementation of dependent types, compiler optimizations for programming languages with templates or generics, garbage collection), pen-based computing (e.g. pen-based collaboration, mathematical handwriting recognition) and mathematical knowledge management (e.g. mathematical web services and digital mathematical libraries).