Computing Advisory Committee (CAC)

The Computing Advisory Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty of Mathematics Council (Council bylaw V (h); effective September 1, 2009).

Duties and powers

  • to advise the associate dean, computing on procedures and priorities for the use of computing resources within the Faculty

  • to participate in continuous long-term planning for the renewal of computing resources in the Faculty, including attention to the relationship with central university computing resources


  • the associate dean, computing, who shall be chair
  • one faculty member from each department and school, appointed by the respective department chairs and school director for two year terms, except for shorter terms when needed to provide for rotation
  • one graduate student representative, elected by the graduate students in the Faculty
  • one undergraduate student representative nominated by the Mathematics Society, and appointed by the dean


Current members

  • Stephen Vavasis, Associate Dean Computing (chair)
  • Martin Karsten, Director, Computer Science Computing Facility
  • Chris Bauch, Applied Mathematics
  • Ricardo Fukasawa, Combinatorics and Optimization
  • Michael Rubinstein, Pure Mathematics
  • Matthias Schonlau, Statistics and Actuarial Science
  • Xinyue Liu graduate students 
  • Keegan Parker, undergraduate students