Welcome to Pure Mathematics

We are home to 25 faculty, four staff, approximately 50 graduate students, several research visitors, and numerous undergraduate students. We offer exciting and challenging programs leading to BMath, MMath and PhD degrees. We nurture a very active research environment and are intensely devoted to both ground-breaking research and excellent teaching.

  1. May 10, 2019Two graduate students placed in the inaugural Mathematics Doctoral Prize competition

    Pure Mathematics PhD students Boyu Li and Ruizhang Jin won second and third places respectively in the inaugural Mathematics Doctoral Prize competition at the University of Waterloo. This new prize will be awarded annually to recognize the achievement of graduating doctoral students in the Faculty of Mathematics. Li will receive a $1,000 award and Jin will receive $500.

  2. Apr. 24, 2019Benoit Charbonneau awarded the FAUW Equity & Inclusivity AwardBenoit Charbonneau in front of the omnitruncated dodecaplex

    Associate Professor Benoit Charbonneau is one of three recipients of the Faculty Association’s Equity Committee Equity and Inclusivity Awards.

    Charbonneau is committed to improving the lives of members of equity-seeking groups on campus, in particular through political, legal, and collective bargaining advancements, as well as organizational leadership.

  3. Apr. 18, 2019Associate Professor Matthew Kennedy appointed University Research ChairMatt Kennedy

    Associate Professor Matthew Kennedy has been appointed a University Research Chair in recognition of his outstanding research contributions to the field of operator algebras and functional analysis. Waterloo’s designation of University Research Chair recognizes exceptional achievement of faculty and their pre-eminence in a field of knowledge.

Read all news
  1. May 28, 2019Geometry Working Seminar

    Speaker 1: Shubham Dwivedi, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo

    "Differential Harnack estimates"

    We will discuss differential harnack estimates including Hamilton’s matrix harnack estimate for solutions of the heat equation and the Li-Yau inequality. If time permits, we will discuss harnack estimates for the Ricci flow.

    Speaker 2: Spiro Kargiannis, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo

    "Bubble Tree Convergence for Harmonic Maps"

  2. May 28, 2019Algebraic Geometry Learning Seminar

    Ehsaan Hossain, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo

    "Localisation and the Nullstellensatz"

    Jeff defined the basic open sets $D_f$. We'll see that in fact $D_f\simeq \mathrm{Spec}(R_f)$ where $R_f$ is a localisation. We might be able to finish the proof that $\mathrm{Spec}(R)$ is Hausdorff iff $\mathrm{Kdim}(R)=0$. Lastly, we can show that if $A$ is an affine algebra then the closed points are dense in $\mathrm{Spec}(A)$.

    MC 5479

  3. May 28, 2019Grad Colloquium

    Pawel Sarkowicz, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo

    "A Fourier Series Approach to the Isoperimetric Problem"

    We will discuss the isoperimetric problem, which is a question of relating the area of an enclosed space to its perimeter (at least in the plane). We will see how this inequality comes to fruition and what it’s optimal solution is using Fourier series. Time permitting, we will look at generalizations of the problem.

    MC 5501

All upcoming events

Undergraduate studies

Check the course offerings list to see when courses are offered.

Graduate studies

Congratulations to Hussein Ahmad - MMath, Benjamin Anderson-Sackaney - MMath, Eric Boulter - MMath, Joshua Hews - MMath, Adam Humeniuk - MMath, Jeremy  Nicholson - MMath, Daniel Pepper - MMath, John Sawatzky - MMath, David Urbanik - MMath, Dan Ursu - MMath, Jake Zimmermann Simmons - MMath, Jonathan Herman - PhD, Boyu Li - PhD, Satish Pandey - PhD, Jitendra Prakash - PhD, John Saunders - PhD, Renzhi Song - PhD who all convocated in Fall 2018. Best of luck in your future endeavours!

Employment opportunities