Friday, May 20, 2022

William Slofstra awarded University Research Chair

William Slofstra

A researcher in the Department of Pure Mathematics is among the latest winners of a University Research Chair.

Awarded by the Office of the Provost, a University Research Chair recognizes exceptional achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge.

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Patrick Naylor wins Mathematics Doctoral Prize

Patrick Naylor

Patrick Naylor, who recently completed a PhD in the Department of Pure Mathematics, has won first place in the 2022 Mathematics Doctoral Prize.

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Matthew Satriano awarded Faculty of Mathematics Research Chair

Matthew Satriano

The Faculty of Mathematics has named Matthew Satriano as one of its Research Chairs for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The award recognizes exceptional scholarly achievement and outstanding contributions to a field of knowledge. Some of the most prolific scholars in the Faculty of Mathematics have held Research Chairs, and Satriano continues the trend of excellence.

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Undergraduate award winners announced

We are very pleased to announce the winners of the 2020/21 Pure Mathematics Silver Awards and the Undergraduate Research Prize.

The Pure Mathematics Silver Award recognizes mathematical excellence in Pure Math and Mathematical Finance. This year's recipients are:

Monday, June 21, 2021

Brian E. Forrest named fellow of the Canadian Mathematical Society

Brian Forrest

Brian E. Forrest, professor of Pure Mathematics, has been named a Fellow of the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS). The fellowship is awarded for outstanding contributions in research, teaching and learning and service in fulfillment of CMS mandates and goals.

"It's an honour and something I'm pretty proud of," says Forrest. "This is a wonderful way to stay connected to the Canadian Mathematical Society, a group that's been a valuable part of my career."

Friday, June 18, 2021

2021 Alumni Gold Medal awarded to Spencer Whitehead

His unwavering commitment to excellence and outstanding academic performance makes Spencer Whitehead (BMath ’21) the recipient of the Alumni Gold Medal for the Faculty of Mathematics.

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Spencer Whitehead recipient of the Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

Spencer Whitehead, a Pure Mathematics major with and a minor in East Asian studies, is the recipient of the prestigious Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research.