CIHR Information Session: Health Services Evaluation & Interventions Research

Wednesday, November 23, 2022 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm EST (GMT -05:00)

CIHR banner


The purpose of this session is to give potential applicants to the Health Services Evaluation & Interventions Research (HS) Peer Review Committees of the CIHR Project Grant program an opportunity to hear first-hand about the committee ‘culture’. This information session will cover what sort of proposals are regularly seen in the three HS committees, what aspects are generally well-received by reviewers, what factors are considered particularly important, how the committees’ mandate is interpreted, what types of proposals are transferred to or from other committees, and how the 3 committees are different. The current Chairs, Drs. Paula Rochon (HS1), Robyn Tamblyn (HS2) and Andrea Gruneir (HS3) will be available to make comments on these issues and to interact with potential applicants on their questions.   

Registration link:


Paula Rochon, BA, MPH, FRCPC, MD

Dr. Paula Rochon is the Founding Director of Women’s Age Lab, Senior Scientist at Women’s College Research Institute, Professor at the Department of Medicine and Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, and RTOERO Chair in Geriatric Medicine at the University of Toronto. Her career is focused on promoting the health and well-being of older adults, particularly women, and finding new ways to improve their lives through leading national and international research. She has published over 300 papers in peer-reviewed journals, is Chair of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) Institute of Aging Advisory Board, and Deputy Editor of the Journal of the American Geriatric Society (JAGS). She founded Women's Age Lab, the first and only research centre of its kind, to focus on improving the health and well-being of older women. Through decades of experience and leadership, Dr. Rochon is creating a space for collaboration on science-driven health and social change that will improve the lives of older adults, specifically women. 

Robyn Tamblyn, BScN, MSc, PhD, CM

Dr. Robyn Tamblyn is a Professor of Medicine, a James McGill Chair, and a Medical Scientist at the McGill University Health Centre. She is Scientific Director of the McGill Clinical and Health Informatics Research Group. She was appointed Scientific Director of the CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research in 2011 and served in this position until her term ended in December 2018. In 2005 Dr. Tamblyn received the CHSRF KT award for research in improving medication use and in 2006 she received the ACFAS Bombardier award for innovation in the development of a drug management system. In 2014, she received the John P. Hubbard Award for outstanding achievement in the assessment of professional competency in health care and medical education and she was appointed to the Order of Canada. In 2015 she received the Outstanding Achievement Award in the evaluation of clinical competence for sustained excellence in Canadian health care and research from the Medical Council of Canada. Dr. Tamblyn was selected as the 2018 Justice Emmett Hall Laureate in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the health ideals extoled by Justice Hall and she was named the recipient of the 2018 Peggy Leatt Award in acknowledgement of her work in improving outcomes in Canada’s health care system. Recently, in 2019, she was elected as a Fellow to the Royal Society of Canada and she was appointed Director of the Division of Clinical Epidemiology at the McGill University Health Centre.

Andrea Gruneir, BSc, MSc, PhD

Dr. Gruneir is currently the co-Director of the Research Program in her department and is the Alberta lead on the newly-funded SPOR Primary Care Research Network. Her research focuses on the health services needs of older adults with complex care needs. She is the current Chair of the Health Services Evaluation & Interventions Research 3 (HS3) committee for the Project Grant program at CIHR. Prior to this, Dr. Gruneir has served on HS1 as a committee member and Scientific Officer.