WCGS Book Prize Nominations & Eligibility

WCGS Book Pprize logo

The Waterloo Centre for German Studies promotes research into any and all aspects of the German-speaking world. As part of this mandate, the WCGS encourages the communication of research findings to both academics and the broader public. The Waterloo Centre for German Studies Book Prize has been established to recognize first-time authors whose scholarly work provides a substantial contribution to our understanding of any aspect of German-speaking society.

Below you will find details about the book prize as well as information regarding eligibility and the nomination process.


The Book Prize consists of two components:

  • Award: CAD $3,000. If the winning book is co- or multi-authored, the award will be split evenly among the authors.
  • Keynote Address: in cooperation with German Studies Canada (GSC), the awardee will present a keynote address about the winning book at the Association’s annual conference, normally held at the end of May in conjunction with the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences. The winner’s transportation, accommodation, meals, and conference registration fees will be covered by the Waterloo Centre for German Studies, and it is expected that the winner will attend most if not all of the three-day conference. Acceptance of the prize is conditional upon agreeing to attend the conference and deliver a keynote address. (If the winning book is co- or multi-authored, one of those authors will be invited to make the presentation.)


  • March 31, 2024: deadline for nominations
  • Early Fall 2024: announcement of the shortlist
  • Late Fall 2024: announcement of the winner
  • Spring 2025: the 2022 WCGS Book Prize winner presents a keynote address at the annual GSC conference 

Eligibility and Nomination Process


  • The first non-fiction scholarly monograph by an author will be considered. Co-authored books are eligible for this award (at least 50% of the authors must be first-time authors). Edited anthologies are not eligible.
  • Nominated books must have a copyright notice indicating 2023 as the year of publication. 
  • Language of publication: The book must be either (1) primarily in English (published anywhere) or (2) primarily in French (published in Canada). Translations are permitted; the original work may have been published prior to the competition year, but it must still be the debut monograph of the scholar in question.

Judging Criteria

  • Books will be judged on the significance of their contribution to our understanding of any aspect of the German-speaking world. Significance will be measured in three areas:
    • Originality: the book’s originality in terms of presentation, scope, topic, etc.
    • Scholarly relevance: the book’s potential for influencing scholarly inquiry (in its own discipline or other disciplines).
    • Public scholarship: the book’s potential for contributing to broader public discourses.
    • Quality: the book is written in an incisive and clear manner, and edited to the highest standards.
  • The nominations will be adjudicated by a panel of German studies scholars chaired by the Director of the Waterloo Centre for German Studies and including one faculty member from the University of Waterloo, one member of the Canadian Association of Teachers of German from outside the University of Waterloo, and up to two other academics.

Nomination Procedure

  • Nomination deadline: March 31
  • To nominate a book, send an e-mail message to wcgs@uwaterloo.ca and provide the following information:
    • Author's full name, postal address, e-mail address, and phone number
    • Author's CV
    • Full book title
    • Publication details (publisher, year)
    • Publisher web page for the book (URL)
    • Publisher contact information (e.g. book or acquisition editor)
  • After nominations close, WCGS we will be in touch with your publisher contact via email with information about how to send copies of the nominated books to the jurors.
  • Books may be nominated by anyone, including the authors themselves, their publishers, or others. Authors who do not self-nominate will be contacted to ensure that they wish their book to be entered into the competition.