Affiliate researchers - International Scientific Advisory Council (ISAC)

Rob Axtell

Professor of Computational Social Science at George Mason University

Rob Axtell is a Professor of Computational Social Science at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia, U.S.A. Previously, he was a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution (Washington, D.C., U.S.A.) and a founding member of the Center on Social and Economic Dynamics there. He holds an interdisciplinary PhD from Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, USA).

Mike Batty

Bartlett professor of planning, University College London

Mike Batty is Bartlett Professor of Planning at University College London where he directs the Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis (CASA). From 1990 to 1995, he was director of the National Science Foundation, National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis (NCGIA) in the State University of New York at Buffalo.

Eric Beinhocker

Executive director, Institute for New Economics

Eric Beinhocker is the executive director of the Institute for New Economic Thinking’s INET@Oxford research program (Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford), a member of the Said Business School at Oxford, and a visiting professor of economics at Central European University.

Monica Cojocaru

Associate professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics, University of Guelph

Monica Cojocaru is an associate professor in the mathematics and statistics Department at the University of Guelph. She completed her BSc and MSc in mathematics at the University of Bucharest (Romania) and her PhD in mathematics at Queen’s University in Kingston, Canada.

Carl Folke

Science director, Stockholm Resilience Centre; director, Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics

Carl Folke is science director of the Stockholm Resilience Centre and the director of the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, one of the collaborating partners of the Stockholm Resilience Centre.

Ian Goldin

Director, Oxford Martin School

Ian Goldin took up his current position as director of the Oxford Martin School in September 2006. He has a BA (Hons) and a BSc from the University of Cape Town, an MSc from the London School of Economics, and an MA and doctorate from the University of Oxford.

Matthew Hoffman

Associate professor of political science, University of Toronto

Matthew Hoffman is an associate professor of political science at the University of Toronto. He has a Bachelor of Science in environmental engineering from Michigan Technological University and a PhD in international relations from the George Washington University.

Eric Lambin

George and Setsuko Ishiyama provostial professor and senior fellow, Woods Institute for the Environment

Eric Lambin is a George and Setsuko Ishiyama provostial professor and senior fellow, Woods Institute for the Environment. He is affiliated with the Department of Environmental Earth System Science, Stanford University. He received his baccalaureate, master in sciences and PhD in sciences, from the University of Louvain, Belgium.

Marten Scheffer

Leader, aquatic ecology and water quality management group, Wageningen University

Marten Scheffer (1958) currently leads the aquatic ecology and water quality management group at Wageningen University. He is interested in unraveling the mechanisms that determine the stability and resilience of complex systems.

William Sutherland

Assistant clinical professor, McMaster University

William Sutherland, MD, is a general practice physician presently working in emergency medicine, general practice psychotherapy, and functional medicine. He is the innovator of the complexity medicine paradigm and the author of the upcoming book on the subject, Grand Rounds: Healing Wisdom for a Complex World.

Leigh Tesfatsion

Professor, Department of Economics, Iowa State University

Leigh Tesfatsion is a professor of economics, mathematics, and electrical and computer engineering at the Department of Economics, Iowa State University. She received her PhD degree in economics, with a minor supporting program in mathematics, from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in 1975.