Recipients of the 2023 Sally Weaver Award

Thursday, January 4, 2024

The Department of Anthropology is pleased to announce that Aparajita Bhattacharya and Evengeline Strickland are the recipients of this year’s Sally Weaver Award.

Dr. Weaver joined what was then the Department of Sociology and Anthropology in 1966 and until her untimely death in 1993 at the age of 52, worked tirelessly to promote the academic mission of the Department as well as social justice and recognition for Indigenous communities. During her time at Waterloo, Sally achieved international recognition as a scholar in applied anthropology and was instrumental in establishing the Canadian Anthropology Society – CASCA – where she served as President from 1975 to 1976. In 1994, Sally’s husband, Dr. David Weaver, generously established this award in her honour.

Aparajita Bhattacharya and Evengeline Strickland