A team of researchers including Waterloo Architecture Assitant Professor Linda Zhang were awarded Best Paper at the 2024 ACSA Annual Meeting for their paper 'Planing Imagination: Community Co-Design for Toronto's Chinatown West'.

The Best Paper and Best Project Awards recognizes outstanding peer reviewed research presented at the ACSA Annual Meeting. Sponsored by the College of Distinguished Professors the award will promote research, scholarship and creative excellence.

The team also includes Josephine Pui-Hing Wong & Mandana Vahabi (Toronto Metropolitan University), Kenneth Fung (University of Toronto), Alan Li (Regent Park Community Health Centre) and Tyler Fox (Springboard Youth Academy).

Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector.

To see the full list of award winners and to read more about the winning entries, visit ASCA 2024 Award Winners.