Awards and honours

Waterloo Engineering faculty, staff, alumni, and students receive recognition for their research, teaching, leadership, and dedication to the engineering profession in the form of a record number of awards and grants.

Our achievements increase Waterloo Engineering's visibility around the world, and amongst Canada’s top engineering organizations, including the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Engineering and Professional Engineers Ontario.

Here we celebrate the many individuals who have been recognized for outstanding achievements through a variety of external and internal award programs.

2023 awards and honours


Lifetime Achievement Award: American Institute of Steel Construction (USA)
Dr. Terri Meyer Boake

Fellow: Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association (INT'L)
Dr. Ravi Mazumdar

Fellow: American Geophysical Union (USA)
Dr. Nandita Basu

Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists: American Geophysical Union (USA)
Dr. Nandita Basu

Fellow: International Society for Design and Development in Education (INT'L)
Dr. Alexander Wong



Technology Category: J & J Women in STEM2D Scholars Award Program (USA)
Dr. Mahla Poudineh

Early Career Award: Polymer Processing Society (INT'L)
Dr. Milad Kamkar

Fellow: Royal Society of Medicine (INT'L)
Dr. Alexander Wong

Fellow: Royal Society of Public Health (INT'L)
Dr. Alexander Wong



Fellow: Canadian Academy of Engineering
Dr. Monica Emelko
Dr. Carolyn Ren

Fellow: Canadian Engineering Education Association
Chris Rennick

Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research: Canadian Society of Information Technology
Dr. En-Hui Yang



College Member: Royal Society of Canada
Dr. Aiping Yu

Fellow: Royal Society of Canada
Dr. Kerstin Dautenhahn

Life Member: Royal Society of Canada
Dr. Keith Hipel


Engineering Medal (Entrepreneurship), Ontario Professional Engineers Awards
Dr. Alexander Wong


Professional Engineers Gold Medal, Ontario Professional Engineers Awards
Dr. John McPhee

Outstanding Performance Award (Waterloo Institute of Sustainable Aeronautics)
Dave Dietz

University Professor
Dr. Philip Beesley