Waterloo celebrates excellence in teaching and research

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

The University of Waterloo honoured 125 educators and researchers who have received the President’s Excellence in Teaching and Research awards 2020 in an online celebration that recognized their contributions to the Waterloo community and beyond.

“There is a tremendous amount of talent at the University of Waterloo and your contribution has stood out and benefited our entire community,” Feridun Hamdullahpur, president and vice-provost, said. “The Waterloo community remains inspired by our educators’ and our researchers’ immense dedication and recognizes contributions made in their field.”

Ninety-two distinguished researchers from across six faculties were honoured with prestigious research awards from the University and external organizations. “The role of research is invaluable,” Hamdullahpur said. “We strategically place it as a priority for the University of Waterloo, because we know that people like you are creating real-world change that makes a critical impact on our society.”

Thirty-three distinguished educators from across the University’s six faculties were honoured for excellence in teaching. James Rush, vice-president academic and provost, said, as an educator, he shares in the excitement of innovating in the classroom.

“Our willingness to take risks and embrace new approaches distinguished us from the beginning,” Rush said. “And during this time of change, your boundary-pushing research and your innovations in teaching the next generation are more important now than ever.”

Thank you to our world-class educators and researchers for their work and dedication, and congratulations to the award winners from the Department of Chemistry!

Teaching Award winners from the Department of Chemistry:

Marcus Abramovitch
- Amit and Meena Chakma Award for Exceptional Teaching by a Student, University of Waterloo

Research Award winners from the Department of Chemistry:

Linda Nazar
Chemistry/Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology
- Highly Cited Researcher (Chemistry), Clarivate Analytics
- Highly Cited Researcher (Materials Science), Clarivate Analytics
- 2019 Chemical Institute of Canada Medal, Chemical Institute of Canada

Pavle Radovanovic
Chemistry/Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology
- Keith Laidler Award, Chemical Institute of Canada

Derek Schipper
Chemistry/Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology/Institute for Polymer Research 
- Ontario Early Researcher, Government of Ontario

A full list of Science award winners and additional links can be found on the Faculty of Science website.