You are here


Monday, April 1, 2019

Waterloo's exceptional student teachers named

Marcus Abramovitch

The Amit and Meena Chakma Awards for Exceptional Teaching by a Student for 2019 will be presented to four student teachers at Convocation this June. Associate Vice-President, Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs Jeff Casello made the announced at Monday's meeting of the University's Senate.

One of this year’s four recipients includes Marcus Abramovitch, a PhD candidate in the department of Chemistry supervised by Professor Linda Nazar.

Monday, March 25, 2019

Waterloo celebrates its top co-op students

2018 Co-op Student of the Year Award Winners

Every year, six exceptional co-op students, one from each faculty, are recognized by the University of Waterloo for their contribution to their employer, their community and the further development of experiential education.

Friday, March 22, 2019

CBB awards seed funding for bioengineering and biotechnology research

Scott Taylor

Ten Waterloo researchers are receiving seed funding from the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology (CBB).

The funding will support the collaboration of multi-disciplinary research teams across Waterloo faculties and departments, with the goal of propelling scientific innovation and growth, and mentoring the next generation of researchers.

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

New funding will help Waterloo chemists improve medical testing and renewable energy management

JELF 2019 University of Waterloo winners Janusz Pawliszyn, Parsin Haji Reza, Rodney Smith, Anna Klinkova, and Sushanta Mitra.

Today, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, announced more than $39 million for state-of-the-art research labs and equipment through the John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF).

Friday, March 1, 2019

Tadeusz Gorecki receives a 2019 Marie Curie Global Fellowship

Professor Tadeusz Gorecki will be going on sabbatical next year thanks to funding from a 2019 Marie Curie Global Fellowship.

Friday, February 8, 2019

Pavle Radovanovic winner of the 2019 CIC Keith Laidler Award

Professor Pavle Radovanovic has been named the winner of the 2019 Keith Laidler Award, sponsored by the Chemical Institute of Canada’s (CIC) Physical, Theoretical and Computation Chemistry Division.

Friday, February 1, 2019

Members of the Nazar Group named finalists in the 2018 World Technology Awards

World Technology Network

Postdoctoral fellow Chun Xia, graduate student Chun Yuen Kwok, and University Professor Linda Nazar, were named as one of seven finalists in the Energy category for the the 2018 World Technology (WTN) Awards.

Friday, February 1, 2019

Linda Nazar awarded the 2019 CIC Medal

University Professor Linda Nazar has been awarded the highest annual honor by the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC): the 2019 CIC Medal. According to the CIC website, “the CIC Medal is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada.”

Thursday, January 31, 2019

Science alumn wins 2018 Polanyi Prize in Chemistry

Ontario is recognizing five leading researchers for their contributions to the fields of chemistry, physiology or medicine, physics and economic science and Waterloo Chemistry alumnus Aron Broom (BSc. '07, MSc. '10, Ph.D. '16) was one of the recipients.

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Waterloo announces the launch of free interactive online chemistry content

Closeup of a student working at a lab bench.

Carey Bissonnette and Laura Ingram from Waterloo’s Department of Chemistry have been awarded a 2018 Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council’s PromoScience grant to expand their online secondary school resource program. 

  1. 2019 (11)
    1. April (1)
    2. March (4)
    3. February (3)
    4. January (3)
  2. 2018 (17)
    1. December (1)
    2. September (3)
    3. August (3)
    4. June (1)
    5. May (4)
    6. April (2)
    7. March (1)
    8. February (2)
  3. 2017 (14)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (2)
    3. October (2)
    4. June (1)
    5. April (1)
    6. March (4)
    7. February (2)
    8. January (1)
  4. 2016 (21)
  5. 2015 (31)
  6. 2014 (18)
  7. 2013 (10)
  8. 2012 (9)