Accessibility Toolkit

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) Toolkit

This toolkit is designed to support you in turning the Ontario government's Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) legislation, that directs university policy and library procedures, into everyday practices in your library or department.

The AODA's five standards give concrete directions for making the province's services and resources accessible. All of our accessibility initiatives should support the AODA's four principles:

  • Dignity – self-respect and the respect of others
  • Independence – do things without unnecessary help from others
  • Integration – same service, same way
  • Equal Opportunity – same options, chances and benefits

The standards: how to comply

General resources